need advise to setup hips correctly

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by mantra, Sep 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,152
    Hi

    reading https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=1942137#post1942137

    i'm a bit confused

    can someone give me some good advises to setup hips correctly ?

    the first thing i did is
    i installed , a full scan and after set the hips to learning mode
    now what should i do to keep a working hips ?
    for working hips , to stop unknow threats, menaces


    thanks
     
  2. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    if HIPS is enabled (default), nothing to do, automatic settings with rules is by default. Advanced user can set rules, other should not


    P.S : in this post, you said you didnt have HIPS module o_O o_O
     
  3. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,152
    what's wrong

    i have the hips but set to learning to avoid pup ups

    by the way i have in the list of the modules!!!
     
  4. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    Re: what's wrong


    here it is set to automatic and got rarely pop ups. I think you will have more pop up in learning mode because you will have to set them one by one until all situations will be set

    you have HIPS in module list, you finally see it...... :thumb:
     
  5. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Re: what's wrong

    If you want to avoid popups you should leave the HIPS in the default Automatic mode.
     
  6. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    Re: what's wrong

    you mean, for no pop up, he should set to automatic, isnt it ?
     
  7. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,152
    Re: what's wrong

    i have 4 possibilities


    i don't know which are these rules , and i don't know if they are enough

    learning mode i guess it's the best , i use my programs and after i switch to interactive mode or policy-based mode

    or allow all my programs that i know are clean and enable interactive..
    but i don't know how allow all my programs
     
  8. gugarci

    gugarci Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    288
    Location:
    Jersey
    I've been using it V5 since the day after it came out. I use HIPS in automatic mode and I still have not seen any pop-ups.
     
  9. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    here, i got some
     
  10. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    On a clean system I set hips and firewall (ess) to learning for a few days. Hips doesn't give any pop ups, then I read through the rules which are many and switch to interactive.
     
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I imported the following:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=308035

    and they work great. No they are not the most solid, but they are a start and do well with me. What I really like is I can actually understand what the popup is saying about the item in question. In all honesty this is one of the first HIPS I can actually understand.

    Eset will make them stronger in time, but I am very pleased with what I see. So, they get a BUY rating from me.:argh:

    Many thanks to toxinon12345 for pointing me in the right direction.
     
  12. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    i dont recommend to import unknown rules to "protect" you pc. It is risky :thumbd:
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2011
  13. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    it's a little more complex than importing firewall rules, if you use beta programs, games down loaders, cloud sync, ventrillo apps etc etc etc. Unless you are running a brand new windows install with no other programs installed, I would imagine every system set up of over a month in age will be very different. For example look and stop rule sets on my gaming pc cause utter mayhem and the hips list in my ess is utterly vast in size after a couple of weeks.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.