Need advice which Internet Security to buy to replace PC Tools

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by bunnyc, Jul 22, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bunnyc

bunnyc Registered Member

I've been using PC Tools Internet Security for around 4 years and it's been brilliant. Never a problem, unlike Norton which allowed viruses in and I had to have my pc formatted 3 or 4 times. As you no doubt all know, Norton took over PC Tools and have closed them down.....my sub ends on 6th August so I still have a little while to buy an alternative. Any former PC Tools users on here who can advise me of an alternative similarly good program as a replacement please? I've done some research but am more confused than ever as many claim that PC Tools was inferior, which wasn't the case for me. The main contenders seem to be Vipre, BitDefender, Norton, Kapersky......but they all have pros and cons from what I've seen. Your help would be much appreciated by this senior cit who isn't all that pc literate, lol.

2. Charyb

Charyb Registered Member

If you are looking for top of the line paid protection (my opinion), I would go with Emsisoft Internet Security Pack.
    You will receive Emsisoft Anti-malware which includes the Mamutu behavior blocker module and Emsisoft Online Armor Firewall.

-http://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/internetsecurity/
    ____

You should also look into avast! Internet Security. Or, avast's free antivirus combined with a free firewall such as Online Armor Free, Windows Firewall, or Private Firewall.

-http://www.avast.com/en-us/index
    ____

Before purchasing, I would install a trial version of each one you are interested in (only one at a time) to make sure it is what you want and runs good on your computer.

Last edited: Jul 22, 2013
  3. bunnyc

bunnyc Registered Member

Thanks Charyb......I'll check those out. Any other former PC Tools users who have found something equally as good?

4. kjdemuth