Need advice please: Online Armor, ProcessGuard, Antihook, Ewido, ZA 6 Pro, Ewido, etc

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by InfinityAz, Aug 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. InfinityAz

InfinityAz Registered Member

First off, I'm fairly new to Wilders. So far I'm very impressed with Wilders -- it's very informative, there are many knowledgeable people here, and most importantly everyone is very willing to help. In fact, it's the best forum I've come across in my many years on the Internet.

Also, I'm InfintyAz not Infinity (who is a frequent poster here and much more knowledgeable than I).

I need some help/advice. Currently, I have two computers, a desktop and a notebook. Both computers are relatively recent (i.e., decently fast) and both have 1GB of RAM. The desktop is running Windows XP Pro and the laptop is running Windows XP Home.

The desktop is my main computer and I use it for work and play (online gaming, surfing, news, music, video, email, etc.). The laptop is my backup and I use it also for work and play (not used much for gaming as it runs a basic Nvidia mobile video card). I always test programs on the laptop before they ever make it to the desktop machine. I am usually fairly careful but do visit some nefarious web sites from time to time an am exposed to some malware (generally caught or stopped by my currently running software).

I do a yearly clean install on both machines, whether they need it or not. I also maintain multiple backups of important files/documents on portable hard drives, CDs, and DVDs. I am an intermediate to expert level computer user (depending on the area).

Both machines currently run the following security and/or cleaning software (if it doesn't list free in parentheses then it's a paid version):

Router (with NAT firewall)
    Firefox with NoScript, Adblock
    Sygate Personal Firewall (free)
    Bitdefender w/ basic registry monitoring (real-time)
    AntiVir (free)
    PcCillin