Need a little help

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by BLars, Apr 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BLars

    BLars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    HI All,

    Sorry to post this here if it is the wrong place, I just caught something on my other computer that got past a NOT UPDATED version of AVG (I did not renew my subscription to AVG because I found it tedious to use...the non-updated version worked ok until today.

    I have been using the Flock web browser to ipload pics to my photobucket site.
    I assume there is a vulnerability in Flock and something found a way in fromo_O? where? the photobucket site?

    When I started it up, it asked me if I wanted to update flashplayer (i think) I clicked NO and proceeded to upload 50 pic to photobucket. At some point I got an unfamiliar pop-up (Ez something I don't know) that looked a lot like a virus that my wife's machine had a while back.
    I immediately turned the machine off and the restarted with the network cable unplugged.. I ran spybot and it found Something it called microsoft windows security center antivirus overide....
    I got rid of that but not before avg asked me for a registry change of the hosts file which I thought came from Spybot and allowed it!.
    After some fiddling, I got the hosts file changed back to only local host
    .
    I ran AVG which found nothing.

    I still suspect I have a bug up my hard drive, but not sure what to do next.
    I ran Hijackthis but I don't want to connect that computer to the net and let it do what ever viral nastiness it will do once it is connected.
    I get no pop ups (so far) running off line.

    Somehow, i can't use my thumbdrive on my serial ports... is that a symptom?

    I didn't want to go and buy a new AV program today, IN fact, I was hoping not to dump money into another unwieldy piece of software without getting a strong recommendation... I would love to get something free this time if there is something reliable.

    I came to this forum to post my hijackthis log and see that you folks don't get involved with it any more.

    I guess my questions are:
    what should I run to Identify this infection? something free?
    Anything I should do to minimise it's damage...spreadingo_O?? stop services?
    What is an effective AV tool for this new generation of viruses trojans and whatnot something for a person with medium computer skills.

    The infection last fall melted my old hardrive ... I ended up wiping it and making it a slave to my new harddrive....I would hate to go through all the BS of reloading my files from BU again.

    Any help will be appreciated.

    Bill
     
  2. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    you can download drweb cureit its a small free utility.edit to add you need not have to pay for antivirus ,AVG has free--- avira free---avast free
     
  3. BLars

    BLars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    REG/Small.A was found/deleted by Norman
    not sure what else it will find.
     
  4. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
  5. BLars

    BLars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    I will look into it, Thanks
     
  6. BLars

    BLars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    OK thanksHurst and DJJohn, I decided to plug that machine in to the net and run Norman which is still running. I don't want to use that machine for ebay or paypal or anything until I am sure it is clean. I turned off the windows restore... I have had unremovable problems before....i hope i am luckier this time
     
  7. BLars

    BLars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    EEEK

    it found 007spy.BO in a couple of electronics calculation utilities that I had downloaded a while back and not used...
    http://www.e-spy-software.com/

    Avg never found it when I downloaded it last year (or the year before), could it have been put there by another program at a later dateo_O


    Hmmmm
     
  8. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Try Avast or Antivir since you are looking for something free or take this as an opportunity to trial some paid Av's. Also keep some online scanners available such as BitDefenders actually many of the Av companies have them. You know it was a major goof to not use an updated Av. Also there are at lot better programs out there than Spybot whose day has come and gone. Suggest you try this instead of Spybot http://www.threatfire.com/
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2008
  9. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    I think it's more like AVG didn't had that signature when you downloaded it. Remember, no AV catch 100% of viruses out there.
     
  10. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I would sugges keep going follow the tips hurst gave you specialy black spears download a antivirus and update it before any furthers scans.you also may want to try avast free after download when prompt for a boot scan says yes let it run its course.
     
  11. BLars

    BLars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    I am downloading avast now, ......

    I liked spybot! those guys seemed laid back and honest, I even sent them money... i have been using the blocking site they recommended..spyware blaster
    that is a nifty lightweight application.... I started usinf spy bot when there were less than 5000 items to check....now it is like 100k! it runs pretty slow, that is my major complaint w/spybot
     
  12. BLars

    BLars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Hey,
    Do I have to uninstall AVK before running AVAST?!
     
  13. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    yes for sure or conflics may occur.sorry I should have said that first off
     
  14. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    You should check the status of the windows security centre, too, since it appears that something may have tried to deactivate it.
    Once you've downloaded your new AV, and disconnected, it should pop a red shield when you deactivate/uninstall AVG. The shield should disappear once Avast is installed. Don't forget to check that a firewall is on, before reconnecting.
     
  15. BLars

    BLars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    oooooooooooooooK

    Well I had the regretable idea to install and scan both my computers with Avista, without uninstalling AVG.
    I thought I had read it was possible to do this, I thought it would be reversable in any case...........

    Both computer sort of boot up and let me log into my admin accts, but, both (both had AVG installed) freeze up when you get to the desktop. Avista display a small informational bubble the caret is just an hourglass and no othe action is possible, niether system will respond to ctr alt del.
    I have to power down to get out of it.

    I am interfacing the internet now by using the gdata boot cd which will do a complete scan and loads some operating system from mars(is this Linux?) Browser is Konquerer....LOL When I hold down shift and pres quote, I get an @ sign.
    I managed to get to this site after 20 min of diddling around.

    This computer is some lame XP on FAT from 2001 called VPR Matrix. I have never been able to boot into safe mode. Although I haven't tried this time.
    I am not sure what I would do if I got there.

    Can AVG or AVISTA be uninstalled from safe mode?

    I will have to figure how to get to the internet again so I will just leave this computer as it is and not reboot for now.

    I would just wipe both systems and start anew except I would lose a gig or so of photos and other stuff.
    and of course
    lose an afternoon or 2 or 3 of time restoring and reinstalling.

    If no one here has any ideas, I suppose I will head to the Avista site and ask for their mercy and help hopefully.

    Any suggestions on how I can get rid of these AV hang-up problems and back to my original set of problems
    I will be very gratefull for .

    yes i will


    Bill
     
  16. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    First:

    try entering in safe mode.
    press f8 repeated times when booting up
    this should bring up the menu.
    Choose first option.

    From safe mode, uninstall the AV you want to uninstall.
    Reboot.

    It should work.

    BTW, yes, that is linux...surprised? normal human beings can use it too :D
     
  17. PiCo

    PiCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    352
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    One sure way to go into safe mode is:
    Start -> run -> msconfig -> pc startup -> safe mode

    You can uninstall anything from there! But since I'm not an expert and haven't ever used the mentioned AVs, I suggest you wait on some more replies :)

    edit://@HURST oh sorry :(
     
  18. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    yes, but he can't use windows, he is under linux now
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Ronald78
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    1,101
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.