Necessary Tasks & Services with v12?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by almosely, Mar 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. almosely

    almosely Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi,

    with ATI Home v10 I used to deactivate the following within the autostart:

    - Acronis Scheduler2 Service
    - Acronis TimounterMonitor
    - TrueImageMonitor.exe

    Furthermore I stopped this service and changed from "auto" to "manual" start:

    - Acronis Scheduler2 Service

    And I used a .bat to (net) stop the "Acronis Scheduler2 Service" each time after using ATI Home v10.

    Is this still possible with ATI Home 2009 v12 without further limitations than with v10?

    Thanks in advance for your help!
     
  2. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    By typing that message you've already gone to more trouble than it will be worth to stop those services ;-) However, why don't you just call up the Win services menu, shut the service down and see what happens? -- the worst would be that an Acronis task won't start when it should. Also, you could shut down Acronis Try And Decide Service while you're at. Neither is a protected service so you can start and stop them at will. They just won't do anything when they are not loaded -- although some might argue that Try and Decide won't do much for you even if it is loaded ;)

    I doubt you will find that your programs perform your work (real world tasks) any faster either way but there is a certain severe elegance to keeping the running services list stripped as bare bones as possible.
     
  3. almosely

    almosely Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Germany
    Thanks for your quick answer!

    I've already changed everything like with v10 and it seems to run fine. But there was a crash once when I tried to mount a backup within the windows explorer. It worked fine when I mounted it within ATI. My question was more like: Are there hidden limitations and errors by deactivating these tasks and services? Will the backups be generated properly without those tasks running?

    There are many programs starting services and tasks that are not necessary, so the more of those tools the more not really needed stuff is running in the background. That's I want to avoid.
     
  4. mbathen

    mbathen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Posts:
    12
    IMHO the mentioned tasks shut be started on demand, i see them running and using about 10MB ram. No good idea for me.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello almosely and mbathen

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Let me explain what mentioned services are responsible for:

    - Acronis Scheduler2 Service is a module for executing tasks on certain events (specific time, logon/logoff and others). I don't recommend you to disable it since all backup/validate tasks are starting through it.

    - Acronis TimounterMonitor is responsible for mounting images in Windows Explorer, so the most probable reason of the crash was that TimounterMonitor was disabled.

    - TrueImageMonitor is a service monitors for users and their scheduled tasks. It is safe to disable it if you are the only one user on the PC and you don't have any tasks scheduled.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Rasovsky
     
  6. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    There is a saying " Unused RAM is wasted RAM" make of that what you will.

    Xpilot
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello almosely,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    All Acronis resident modules described by Ilya uses very little amount of physical memory in normal state (when no imaging or other task is performed) since operating system swaps them off to the swap file on the hard disk. Disabling of these services with Acronis True Image installed may cause some issues with the correct working of the program and of the system.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  8. almosely

    almosely Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Germany
    Okay, it seems the use of these services and tasks has changed since v10. I remeber different answers from the acronis team formerly. Well, than it has to be - I will start the services and tasks as they are meant to be; no custom modification.

    Thanks for all your answers and help!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.