Native resolution

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by maddawgz, Sep 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    hey guys i have 19inchwide screen native resolution 1440x900 thing is i was running it at 1024x768 and have done for yrs even on old monitor...I have new one now graphics card that goes to 1440 now that i've seen the difference sure perhaps not as blury or bold might be the word on 1440 but its to small me eyes are struggling although the text isnt as bold looking . folders etc applications i liked it alot beter at 1024 but i loose my qaulity right pixels and size room like on a webpage ? tried changing DPI too but then icons get all rugged round edges, anyway round this or is it a matter of getting used to it cant believe the designed them like this crazy frustrating now ive seen the difference its anoying me, that or i was running it wrong all along and am blind thanks MD
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2007
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,054
    Hi Maddawgz

    I have the higher end Samsung monitors and I don't run any of them at native resolution. I'd need a magnifying glass. Works fine for me.

    Pete
     
  3. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    With this 22 inch samsung and nvidia 8500 256meg GT card I am stuck in 1680 x 1050.

    If I change the resolution I lose the sharpness and it seems the like there's no drivers installed for the video card.

    You could change the size of your icons which is easy to do in Vista by holding the control key and scrolling with the mouse wheel.

    Change XP Icon Size
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Display Properties > Appearance > Change the font size or go to Advanced and change font sizes in there.
     
  5. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    You can also change the print size of a webpage by holding control and scrolling with the mouse wheel.

    Or holding ctrl and tapping + or - on the right side numbers pad.
     
  6. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    well im back running at 1024 on native reso of 1444, things are just to small at native, on vista drats! I don remember having this problem with xp unless Xp was a diff formatt i duno.... I'ts not so much just browsing i can use add ons for that, its your applictions like spybot has tiny writing evertyhing is just to tiny how silly. Ive tried every angle DPI , reso all of them, Im uninstalling my Nvidia drivers and re-enstalling might help thanks MD :rolleyes:

    edit
    what should i have screen refresh rate set at 60 or 70 or 75
    Adapter says Nvidia Gforce 7600GS Microsoft WDDM ......I'm not going to bother downloading graphics from Nvidia site as i looked in device manager seems its there, no idea about that stuff

    http://i8.tinypic.com/6cy5aok.jpg
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2007
  7. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    When I went from a 17" CRT ( 1024x768 ) to a 19" FP ( 1280x1024 ) I had a time reading my screen. 1024x768 looks too big so I came up with another solution. I bought 2x reading glasses that I only wear when I am on the computer, lol.
     
  8. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.