My Vista machine just did what my 2k8/2k3 server did.. Deadlock

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by bradtech, Apr 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bradtech

    bradtech Guest

    100% cpu usage.. Computer runs like a slideshow.. I wrote down the time, and it took 15 minutes to login to windows and it is impossible to ctrl-alt-del or do anything.. Our Windows 2008 Server running 4.0.417 deadlocked during operation like this... Then it would fail over to a server with 4.0.314 and it would do the same thing.. I had a good friend this happend to running Vista at home.. He came home and it was a slide show.. I reverted back to 3.0.672 and now over a week no problems.. The only thing I can find with an error during this start up in the Event Viewer is the following


    These problems have only occurred with 4.0 and each release.. I hope this log file can shine some behavior on what is going on in the background when this happens. I have attached Application and System Event Viewer logs.. I am running 4.0.424.0 right now and it happened again.. Same thing as my friend reported on his home machine, same thing on 2k8 server.. I let it hang for 15-20 minutes as you can see in the logs..

    Scroll to bottom and read up..
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 24, 2009
  2. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    What programs do you have installed on this machine? Any backup software or real-time scanners other than the ESET software? Some programs can cause your computer to run very slow if they are trying to access files in a way that conflicts with antivirus software.
     
  3. bradtech

    bradtech Guest

    Average things.. My startup consists of Xfire, NOD32, and AMD Catalyst.. The servers that are deadlocking at work the same way just have Teamed NIC drivers that comes with IBM servers *Broadcom*.
     
  4. Gamil

    Gamil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    Windows Server OSes post-2k aren't designed to run many of the applications (and pieces of hardware) that the consumer-level OSes are built to run.

    Just to confirm: Which product-line are you running on 2008? Make sure you've grabbed the right package. (It happens to all of us)
     
  5. bradtech

    bradtech Guest


    I'm not running Windows 2008 Server on my home computer.. I run it on a File System Cluster Service at work. I am saying that V4 did the same thing on my Vista machine, that it was doing on the 2008 Server computers.. This issue has been reported by other people. If you look on the forums.
     
  6. JuliusB

    JuliusB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    82
    can you turn NOD32 self-defense off and see if the problem persists?
    go to setup/advanced setup/antivirus and antispyware and uncheck Enable Self-defense
     
  7. bradtech

    bradtech Guest

    I have done this.. However the issue is random.. Unfortunatly I cannot install 4.0.424 on the servers it was doing this on because they are production servers..
     
  8. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    What pervious antivirus did you have installed if any? Some antivirus packages leave behind parts that can cause this type of problem.
     
  9. bradtech

    bradtech Guest

    There were no previous anti virus products on it.. Fresh 2k8 image with no AV until we got NOD32.. I rolled back to 3.0.672 and dead locks go away.. Had MS and NOD32 recommended exclusions
     
  10. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    At this point, I will recommend submitting a support case so we can help you out with more in-depth analysis of the problem.

    Go to:
    http://www.eset.com/support/contact.php

    You can PM me with the case number and I will follow the case and try to help resolve it as soon as possible.
     
  11. vodalp

    vodalp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    When 4.0.314 (or was .317 the initial one) first arrived, I installed on my Vista x32 laptop. Started seeing this behavior, especially if I left it unattended for a while; came back, wouldn't come out of screen saver, no ctrl-alt-del; had to hard reboot. Sometimes did this with no screen saver as well.

    So I rolled back to 3.0.684 and all was good. After waiting a few iterations, 4.0.424 is good. So I installed on my Vista x32 desktop...

    Started seeing the same behavior. After a couple days, I removed 4.0.424 and put back 3.0.684 and all is good.

    I've rolled this out on various WS2003, WS2003 R2, and WS2008 servers so far, and mostly OK. I've had problems on two WS2003 servers (https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=241968) that were resolved by rolling back to 3.0.684.

    I'm hoping something solid comes out to resolve these issues; I'm a firm believer in ESET's 2.x and 3.x AV products, and really like the features in 4.0... just need to be extremely confident in it for my customers.
     
  12. Agent X20

    Agent X20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I've seen this same behaviour of my Vista 64 machine freezing up after being left idle for a period of time. I'm running 424 with no previous anti-virus software other than V3 ESET.

    My initial install of V4 was over the top of V3. Since then I've fully uninstalled V4 (including registry and AppData folders etc) and installed a clean copy. Unfortunately the lockups continue - so I'm forced to revert to V3.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.