My NOD-32 2.12.3 does not auto-update

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by halcyon, Nov 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. halcyon

    halcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Posts:
    373
    I have a schedule in my NOD-32 to check for updates every 4 hours.

    It is configured properly in Scheduler and attached to "My Profile".

    "My profile" is the active profile in Automatic Update setup.

    Server is set to choose automatically.

    Automatic update properly states: Automatic update is scheduled.

    However, I don't get any new signature update using this method.

    My other schedule (Update on reboot/logon) does work.

    So I only get new updates if I reboot or manually update.

    Why is this? What could I have misconfigured?

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi Halcyon, very nice post, well put together.

    Did you alter the existing scheduled update that does so every hour? Or did you add a new schedule?

    Are you on a dialup account or broadband/high speed internet?

    Can you go to Control Centre> Nod32 System Tools> Scheduler/Planner

    Right click on your new schedule

    Click Change.

    Can you post a series of screen shots for each window that appears.

    This can be simply done by pressing "ALT + Prt Scr"

    Then open up MS Paint from Start> All Programs> Accessories

    Right Click and then Paste

    Save the files in "GIF" format and then post them here.

    Cheers :D
     
  3. halcyon

    halcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Posts:
    373
    I found the problem and I can confirm a bug in the Update feature.

    Take a look at the following schedule screen grab and pay attention to the "Last triggered on" column:

    http://www21.brinkster.com/roina/nod32_scheduler_bug.png

    If you have your system date set incorrectly, the Scheduler will still make a timestamp based on that incorrect date.

    Even if you then set your system clock to the right time, the scheduler will wait for the next update, based on the previous timestamp (even though that was incorrect from the wrongly configured system clock).

    What's more troubling is that there is no way to reset the last timestamp for a schedule that has an incorrect "last run on" date. You just have to create a new schedule from scratch and make sure your system time is correct, before you do it.

    regards,
    halcyon

    PS It is debatable whether this is a bug in technical terms. However, from a point of view of security it is, because the scheduler should not be so easily fooled and lead to a compromise in system security.
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I have sent an email to Eset with a link to this thread...

    Cheers :D
     
  5. windstrings

    windstrings Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    337
    Yep.. thats exactly the trick... just delete the existing automatic update that came with the prog and make a new.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.