My host file disappeared

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by woobook, Jun 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. woobook

    woobook Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    131
    Under C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\ETC , I cant find the host file. Does Panda Titanium change its setting?
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    i dont know about Panda but try this:

    go to ur folder settings and make sure u can view hidden files. if the HOSTS file is still not visible, make sure u can view system files. it should appear then. otherwise im stumped.
     
  3. woobook

    woobook Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    131
    I have enabled the hidden files and checked system32 and system, still coundnt find it.
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  5. woobook

    woobook Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    131
    Cannt find Host File, but there is a similar file named "lmhosts".
     
  6. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Just create extensionless file in that folder, name it "hosts" (without quotes obviously) and copy&paste content below inside it. Save the file and voila :)

    Code:
    # Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    #      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
    #       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host
    
    127.0.0.1       localhost
    PS: this is clean default HOSTS file from Windows XP.
     
  7. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,878
    Location:
    New England
    I'm wondering if you continued testing BOClean with GRC's leaktest file, as you were trying in this thread. If you did finally get BOClean to detect and clean that, then it's BOClean that probably deleted your hosts file.

    See this BOClean thread about that:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=108368

    If set to do so, when it cleans an infection, BOClean will delete the Hosts file, 'reset' the IE security zone sites, and even delete your network connectoid's DNS servers, if any have been manually set there.
     
  8. redwolfe_98

    redwolfe_98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    yep, with the default settings, BOC will strip the HOSTS file when it does its cleaning..

    you can adjust BOC's cleaning options, disabling cleaning of "downloaded program files" and "winsock connectivity", and then BOC will not strip the HOSTS file or "downloaded program files", or websites in IE's "trusted sites" and "restricted sites" zones..

    i disabled those two options in BOC's "configuration"..

    i would also recomment using "hijackthis" to fix the "015" issues created by BOC's cleaning process (with the default settings) and i also found that i needed to use a utility called "deldomains" to straiten out some problems that i found when trying to restore websites to IE's "trusted sites" and "restricted sites" zone, after BOC's cleaning process..

    you can do a google-search for "deldomains".. it can be downloaded from this webpage:

    http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/restricted.htm
     
  9. FiOS Dan

    FiOS Dan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    You have to name it "hosts" with the quotes so there is no file extension.
     
  10. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    When I remake the hosts file, I just make a "HOSTS" without quotes, and if you have file extensions shown, as one should, just delete the file extension afterwards.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.