My friend's computer tower's power button is pushed in a bit and slightly crooked.

Discussion in 'hardware' started by cheater87, Oct 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Is there any way she can fix this? She can only turn it on by hitting the bottom of the power button and hitting the middle does nothing. She wants to see if there is a way she can fix this without having to open up the tower.
     
  2. Aventador

    Aventador Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    420
    Yup. Buy a new tower. Can't fix a broken button.
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Aventador,

    You know what this thread is about!
     
  4. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Without open the tower i don't think so...

    One way is to change the power wire with the reset (assuming there's one) in the motherboard. That way the computer will turn on with the reset button.
     
  5. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    I'll second that! :thumb:
    I cannot see another solution without Opening the Tower or Replacing it...:doubt:
     
  6. zarzenz

    zarzenz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Posts:
    449
    Location:
    UK
    What may have happened is at some point in time a heavy object may have hit the power button and simply bent the shaft that may be behind it or in some other way distorted the plastic button itself in such a way that the bottom of the button is now rubbing against the case of the front panel.

    Your friend could disconnect the tower from mains power and simply remove the side cover which will then normally allow access to the clips that hold the front panel on and with this removed it should become obvious what is going on there. Sometimes it's possible to gently bend any distortion back to the normal position or even see if there are mounting screws that can be loosened to allow a better position of the switch to be located thereby removing contact with the case itself.

    If this is not possible due to a lack of confidence or some other reason why this dismantling can't be done then maybe you can try to scrape the plastic of either the button itself or the case itself with the blade of a small screwdriver (observing care for health and safely reasons) assuming they are actually made of plastic of course and this may allow a tiny but sufficient gap to be created to stop the fowling of the switch button on the case thereby restoring the normal unobstructed operation of the switch and fixing this problem.
     
  7. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Cheater, How old is this computer? If it's ready for replacement any way, tell your friend to bite the bullet and go for a new one. If she gets it now she can still get WIN7 on it rather than WIN8. Then tell her to gently press the power button on the new one.;)
     
  8. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,283
    In the case of Dell and other OEMs, there is usually a Service or User Manual available, that explains how to change the power button module. Of course, this requires some manual ability, and If the computer is out of warranty, it would be necessary to buy the module.
     
  9. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    very easy to fix the button you can get a replacement at radio shack or use a valet button for a car alarm system they work great. the hardest part is making it so it sits far out enough so it can be pressed from the front. most cases have a small plastic cover over the button so its more of a task of getting it to sit behind that. what i do if someone wants to really fix the button is take a small piece of plumbers strapping the metal with the holes in it. cut a piece you think will be long enough you can always make it smaller so make it a bit larger. start by taking a quick measurement and making it into the shape of a u "with wings" i can draw it and show you if you are not sure what i mean. then i take a small self tapping screw and screw down the "wings" to the case and mount the new switch in the front part of the strapping to meet up with the front or the button cover on the front. works everytime. you need a momentary switch is what to ask for at radio shack and there are all different sizes.

    another thing is sometimes you dont need to make a "mount" for the switch sometimes the front of the case is close enough to the metal frame behind it you can simply drill a small hole in the metal frame and mount it right there. if you use a auto alarm valet button most have a threaded body and can be mounted slightly forward or back etc..

    again if you decide to save the case and are not sure please let me know if i can help at all. its not that hard i do these types of fixes literally all the time as i do both out of warranty and in warranty repairs out of my shop. time wise its easier to just get a new case but i do save cases from death all the time. and just let me know if you need any help.
     
  10. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Why not drill a tap hole in the center of the button and screw a self tapping 1" machine screw into the tap hole. Then you grasp the screw and push in to start the computer.
     
  11. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I got a simple fix,Leave the darn thing on Duh its a desk top not a laptop. Set your HDD to hibernate and sleep the monitor at a set time.IMO its more wear and tear to turn it off on off on all day long.
     
  12. Aventador

    Aventador Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    420
    Good answer. Who the hell wants to put a toggle switch on a tower? Can you say "hack" better yet "Micky Moused". :rolleyes:
     
  13. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks bro,yea the drill and screws sound a little to much and not something I would do.
     
  14. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r

    not at all a toggle switch and it works and looks EXACTLY as it does from the factory on the outside. im talking about a momentary PUSH button. if you look at almost all cases the outside power button is just a cover not the actual button. so behind that cover is the real push button this way you are replacing the PUSH button behind the front cover. i do this job often and you can not tell it was even done from the outside and it works as it did from the factory. i get asked often to fix the power button and its really a easy job not at all a hack. cosmetically its exactly stock looking and works the same as it always did. dont mean to be rude but this is not at all a mickey mouse job as you call it, and some people do not want to replace their case especially when they have a very expensive one like lian, antec or corsair etc and the part is not always available. i do custom paint jobs and case modding as well as build full custom aluminum cases for people and believe me the switch is very easy to do.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2012
  15. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    No offense,but as much trouble as she has with the PC,maybe this is a blessing.
     
  16. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    KUdos:)
     
  17. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,272
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    She, like every PC owner, should be opening the case every month or so for inspection - to ensure the interior is not blanketed in a layer of heat trapping dust - and cleaning, if necessary.

    From there, if me, I would remove the two Power button wires and the two Reset button wires coming from the front of the case and attach to the motherboard's front panel I/O header. Then connect the Reset button's wires to the two Power button pins on the header.

    From there, most BIOS Setup Menus allow you to configure the power button to reset if pressed momentarily, and shut down if pressed and held for 4 seconds or more. In this way, she can still reset if needed, and shutdown "gracefully" too.

    And note the bad switch might (fingers crossed) just have a bent retainer clamp that needs to be bent back into place. However, once bent (and bent back) that retainer clamp will never be as strong (have as much tension) as before, and care to not press too hard - ever again - will be needed. So swapping button wires may still be the best option.

    Turning off by killing the power (not "gracefully" shutting down Windows, then powering off) is bad because it can result in a corrupt hard drive, and broken Windows.
     
  18. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Are you kidding? This lady isn't a techie, and is just an average computer user.
     
  19. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,272
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    No! I am not kidding at all! Computers have fans that draw in dust, dander and hair just as well as they draw in cool air. And that WILL blanket everything is an blanket of heat trapping dust. And as noted in my sig, heat is the bane of all electronics.

    So if she does not want to open the case for inspection, or repair of the button, then she needs to find a qualified computer repair person who will. That is not a criticism. If I can't fix my truck, I take it to a qualified mechanic. If it takes more than a new washer, I call a plumber to fix my leaks. Same goes for fixing electronics - which are much more sophisticated than my pipes.
     
  20. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    That's a better way to put it. She should take the computer to a tech person and have regular maintenance done periodically if she doesn't know how to do it herself, like getting the start button fixed. :)
     
  21. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,272
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    I agree with the start button, but everyone should know how to at least inspect for dust. And cleaning is not hard - though essential ESD precautions are needed.
     
  22. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    I have an answer for the dust factor problem Mr Bright :cautious: Just buy some dust mites from the local fishing store, and place then in the bottom off the tower, they will vacuum all that dust blanket up good and proper:p Squeaky clean blighters those mites :shifty:

    OK! Just kidding, Compressed Air works well for me, $20 a can, last a long time too:cool:
     
  23. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,272
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Well, I use an air compressor with a moisture and particulate filter - no need to hold the nozzle upright all the time. And of course, 80PSI really stirs up the dust. :)

    I like the cans of compressed dusting gas for blasting the cookie crumbs out of my keyboard, or dog hair from the mouse's laser beam. But it is important to note those cans do NOT contain air. In fact, they typically contain difluoroethane, a refrigerant used in air conditioners and refrigerators. It is highly toxic and when inhaled, can be extremely dangerous and even fatal.

    And sadly, tragically, because the purchasing of spray paint is typically controlled, some people are now "huffing" this stuff for kicks - and dying or causing permanent neurological damage and heart disease. :(

    So the reality is even with these cans of compressed dusting gas, you should still take the computer outside for cleaning. For one, you minimized risk of inhaling that stuff (or the stirred up dust) but also if you blast indoors, you computer fans will attempt to suck all that back in again.
     
  24. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    :blink: So your Dog is secretly taking doggie cookies with him to surf his pals late at night? hence dog hairs on the laser beam,.. unless your dog doubles as a mouse pad during the day :p
     
  25. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,272
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    No. He has his own computer for that. ;) But anyone who has had a pet knows that pet hair gets everywhere. Cookie crumbs are my own doing - or undoing, as the case may be.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.