My disk shows red and Invalid

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by Piko71, Apr 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Piko71

Piko71 Registered Member

Please help me to find out what's wrong with my system.
    I installed Windows 7 64 bits on an other disk when I upgraded from Windows XP pro SP3. It works well but when I installed Paragon Drive Backup 9 64 Personal on W7 it shows the disk with W7 as red and labeled Invalid.

I am a newbie but I think it has something to do with partitions I have on my disks. In the Control Panel it looks like this:
    Disk 0 Simple Basic NTFS Healthy (Active, Primary Partition) -Here I have my Windows XP
    Disk 1 Simple Basic NTFS Healthy (System, Boot, Page File, Active, Crash Dump, Primary Partition) Here I have my Windows 7 and this is Invalid in Drive Backup 9
    Disk 2 Simple Basic NTFS Healthy (Logical Drive)
    Disk 3 Simple Basic NTFS Healthy (Primary Partition) This one is external USB disk
    Disk 4 Simple Basic NTFS Healthy (Active, Primary Partition) This one is external USB too

What I should do? And please, if you want help me don't forget that I am newbie on this so I need detailed instruction, please!

2. SIW2

SIW2 Registered Member

Boot into Windows 7.

Use Windows Disk Management to shrink the Windows 7 partition a tiny bit (1 or 2gb is enough ). Then extend it back again.

Now see what Paragon says.

Hope it helps.

3. Piko71

Piko71 Registered Member

Thank You SIW2!
    I did as you said. I shrink 1.9 Gb and it went OK. Then I extended the same amount. It went not so good.
    I get message something like Volume is corrupted... and I get a little part 2.9Mb Unallocated and rest of it 232.8 Gb Not formatted! Coulor went wine red istead!

I don't feel good! :argh:

4. SIW2

SIW2 Registered Member

5. Piko71

Piko71 Registered Member

Hi,
    Yes, I get it with Windows Disk Management.