My configuration, it is good?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by kajordo, Jan 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kajordo

kajordo Registered Member

Hi to all, I'm a newbie in this forum and definetly not an expert in security issues.
    Obviously I always surf (and surfed) with an antivirus, a firewall and an anti spyware program.
    I've decided to strenghten my security, so I am asking you what do you think of my current configuration:

Windows XP Pro SP1 (tried SP2 and don't want to use it, very unstable in my PC) constantly patched with Windows Update.
    Mozilla Firefox 1.0 & Thunderbird 1.0.
    Zone Alarm Pro 5.5 + Visual Zone.
    Kaspersky Anti-Virus Personal Pro 5.0. (Automatically updated every 3 hours).
    eTrust Pest Patrol Anti Spyware 5.0. (Automatically updated when it wants to).
    Ewido Security Suite 3.0. (Automatically updated when it wants to).

The active protections of my security programs are all turned on at maximum setting all the time, and I am experiencing no slow down (I mean the system is slower then without them, but not noticeably) and no conflicts between the programs. (And I have an Athlon XP 1800+ with 512 Mb of memory, not an Athlon 64 3400+ or Pentium 570 with 1 Gb of memory dual channeled).

I think tha I have achieved a good task in getting all working well, but... :doubt:
    I am really secure? I still get spyware, I noticed for example an Elite Toolbar for IE :eek: , even if I use Bill's browser only when Firefox doesn't work well in some sites (mainly microsoft related), and this occur veery rarely.

What I can do? Is my configuration good? I must use some other program in addition or in substitution? o_O

Thank you in advance! :)

2. Notok

Notok Registered Member

Use some of the tools in my sig, that will help close some of the holes in both IE and the rest of the system ;)