"My Computer" opens automatically on login- any solution?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by aigle, May 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Recently cleaned malware from a friend,s a PC and installed some application, FF, Opera, CCleaner, AVG AS and Anti-RootKit, Avast etc.
    It,s working OK but it,s having an annoying issue. On login "My Computer" window opens up automatically. It was not like this before, even when there was malware.
    Autoruns shows no entery for this in start up. Cleaned registry with CCleaner and RegSeeker but no effect. Cleared page file, still no effect. Any ideas how to fix it? It,s really very annoying.

    Thanks
     
  2. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Lots of suggestions here though several years old.
     
  3. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks, I will try.
    I forgot to mention that it is XP Pro.
     
  4. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Figured it was XP. It sounds like a corrupted explorer.exe That can happen when battling\removing malware. The posts were dated 2003 and I do believe they were talking about XP with a little 2k thrown in. Good Luck.
     
  5. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,280
    Location:
    England
  6. ravin

    ravin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Posts:
    241
    Location:
    South Carolina
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks for the replies.

    I tried for hours with reboots n reboots but no success. I really got frustrated.
    Then I did system restore and thanks God that worked. In the end it took for me less time to do a system restore and reinstall some of software that I lost in system restore process.

    Problem was actually this registry entery in Autoruns for which there was no corresponding file. Each time I login, I wil get message that file KesenjanganSocial.exe was not found. Whenever I disable the autorun of this file, or delete this entery via autoruns, I get "My Computer" opened at start up.
    I then deleted the reg entery manually from RegEdit, and the matter solved.

    I wonder what is this KesenjanganSocial.exe BTW. Seems to be some worm!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 31, 2007
  8. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,280
    Location:
    England
    Found this with google aigle......

    In fact, kesenjangan.social.exe, is not the name of the virus, but the name of the file which contains the virus. its name is the WORM_RONTKBR.D, it attacks bones XP/98/NT WAITER 2003…
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks stapp.
     
  10. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Just found same kesenjangan.social.exe on another PC. It was Brontk worm as recognized by Antivir.
    It seems very common. I have seen it on so many PCs in past few months.
    It,s name is WORM.RONTKBR( or something like that) by Avast.
     
  11. sakura17jbf

    sakura17jbf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    h! aigle,..

    i have problem the same as yours,..

    its also about kesenjanganSocial.exe,..

    i just want to know what the right thing to do with it

    without having to reboot and restore my system

    and also,..how to do it,...

    how to remove this kind of virus

    pls,..

    need your help badly,..

    i hope you can help me,..

    thanx very much in advance,..
     
  12. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I was able to delete it by using Avast home( it,s free). U can try to scan with Avast home and AVG antispyware free in safe mode. Quarantine whatever u find. But do it at ur own risk.
    I cleaned this virus on two systems via Antivir and on both these systems desktop GUI denied to load on reboot( probably explorer.exe), and I had to do repair install. So later I tried Avast and the results are as in above posts.
     
  13. DonMartin

    DonMartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    In my house
    Easiest way to cure this problem is to get Progfix and run it.
    (It will not fix any viruses, that this thread has slided in to, but the problem with the program folder that opens at start up)
    http://www.wintrix.net/Programz.asp?ID=Progfix

    Regards /Don
     
  14. sakura17jbf

    sakura17jbf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    thanks for the replies,..

    uhmmm....

    can u give the step by step procedure??

    plso_O

    and another question,..

    if i will do it,..

    will my computer will restored??

    thanx,..thanx very much,...
     
  15. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    As I said, run any good Antivirus scanner.
     
  16. sakura17jbf

    sakura17jbf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    but evrytime i run the antivir

    it stll not deleted

    and the report says that

    there are files that cannot be scanned

    can i ask these,..

    if i run the autorun,..

    and my files will be extracted,..

    will my computer will be restored?/o_O
     
  17. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
  18. sakura17jbf

    sakura17jbf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    h!,..

    ive already remove it,..

    thanks for the helps,..

    i used autorun,..

    have a nice day,..
     
  19. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Glad to know that. Sorry that I was not so helpful. Resons: limited time, limited internet access and limited knowledge indeed. Fixing it on PC is very different from guiding some one internet how to do it. No much experience for that.
     
  20. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    "Fixing it on PC is very different from guiding some one internet how to do it."

    Now there's a mouthful!


    Steve
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.