[My App] Norton Rapid Updater

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by RejZoR, Sep 28, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    [My App] Norton Rapid Updater (3.10.04)

    Download:
    www.excessive-software.tk

     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2004
  2. bch

    bch Guest

    I just have to say what a superb web site security-ops is. I have only been using the internet since January, based in the UK, and am very interested in the security side of things. Your site is really marvellous!
     
  3. Unity

    Unity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    112
    Location:
    Toulouse ~ France
    Very nice apps Rejzor. :)

    Can you tell me where it stores the virus definition exe ?
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    The file is downloaded to:
    %WinDir%\SymRapid\

    But its deleted after updating is completed,so you will only see it in WINDOWS folder when its downloading (when you see that progress bar).
    After update is completed,you won't find any traces of update process in WINDOWS folder. Norton Rapid Updater can be also executed anywhere. There is no limitation. The only problem might be if you use some kind of proxy. I currently don't know how to impliment support for this without breaking this fully automated process...

    Oh and thanks for the comments about webpage :) I'll improve it even further :)
     
  5. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    Hi,

    your website is a very good security ressource, I should add it to my website links when I will redone them.
    BTW I noticed that in your firewall security check list, you include the leaktest page of Gibson's website, but not mine, may be you could if you want :)

    Regards,

    gkweb.
     
  6. Unity

    Unity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    112
    Location:
    Toulouse ~ France
    Thank you RejZor it's even better than i thought :D
     
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Thanks :) I'm redesigning the page as we speak,so your Leaktester will be included on next page update :)

    I need to seperate Security-Ops (security site) from my eXcessive Software part (all my apps still on Sec-Ops),so i'll have more space to work with apps descriptions and easier update process.
     
  8. jon_fl

    jon_fl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    242
    I had responded on your other thread about Norton Rapid Updater. I've been to every forum out there trying to find the solution to more than once a week virus defs updates. I liked NAV 2005 a lot but was thinking of switching to another AV because of the lack of updates. I tried your app and I'm staying with NAV 2005. Your app worked flawlessly and easily. It works with Task Manager and it makes daily updating a snap. Thanks!! :D
     
  9. richrf

    richrf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,907
    Hi,

    Great program and great site. Thanks much.

    Rich
     
  10. Shaker

    Shaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Norther California
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 29, 2004
  11. se7engreen

    se7engreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    USA
    RejZoR-
    Sounds like a cool app...does it work with Symantec corp versions? I don't use norton but that would be very usefull with SAV if it uses the same update process.
     
  12. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    My Norton Rapid Updater supports following products:

    Norton AntiVirus 2000 for Windows 9x/NT/2000
    Norton AntiVirus 2001 for Windows 95b/98/NT/2000/Me
    Norton AntiVirus 2002 Professional Edition
    Norton AntiVirus 2002 for Windows 98/Me/NT/2000/XP Home/XP Pro
    Norton AntiVirus 2003 Professional Edition
    Norton AntiVirus 2003 for Windows 98/Me/2000/XP Home/XP Pro
    Norton AntiVirus 2004 Professional Edition
    Norton AntiVirus 2004 for Windows 98/Me/2000/XP Home/XP Pro
    Norton AntiVirus 2005 for Windows 98/Me/2000/XP Home/XP Pro
    Norton AntiVirus 7.x Corporate Edition Client
    Norton AntiVirus for Microsoft Exchange (Intel)
    Norton SystemWorks (all versions)
    Norton Utilities for Windows 95/98 (all versions)
    Symantec AntiVirus 3.0 for CacheFlow Security Gateway
    Symantec AntiVirus 3.0 for Inktomi Traffic Edge
    Symantec AntiVirus 3.0 for NetApp Filer/NetCache
    Symantec AntiVirus 3.1 for SMTP Gateways for Windows
    Symantec AntiVirus 8.0 Corporate Edition Client
    Symantec AntiVirus 8.1 Corporate Edition Client
    Symantec AntiVirus 9.0 Corporate Edition Client
    Symantec AntiVirus/Filtering 3.02 for Microsoft Exchange 2000
    Symantec AntiVirus/Filtering 3.1 for Domino
    pcAnywhere32 7.5 and higher for Windows NT
     
  13. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I'm working on an improved version that checks if you already have the same update. This will remove need to download same definitions if you already have them. Checking will be most probably done by MD5 hash check as Symantec offers it to verify downloaded definitions.

    I'm still thinking if i should store the value to INI file or registry? What do you think? Registry can be messed up by Reg Cleaners,so INI should be better option i guess.
     
  14. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Ok its really late today... i'll finish the testing process tomorrow.
     
  15. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Ok i finished testing and i think its working ok. If you encounter any problems you can simply delete working folder and start from scratch.

    I also recommend that you read included readme file for more details on new features :)

    You can get this new updated version here:
    www.excessive-software.tk
     
  16. Shaker

    Shaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Norther California
    Hi RejZoR. I just installed your new version of Norton Rapid Updater. After I ran it for the first time, and since I already had the rapid update for today, it stated Rapid Update>None. So I guess it's working like it should.

    Thank you once again.
     
  17. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    You mean it said you already have the latest?
    Or you mean that the Status was: NONE -> [Some number] ?

    First is a new checking implimentation,and second one is when you use it for the first time (the new version). Thats because it doesn't have the defs build number stored locally. After first successful update it will show:
    [Some smaller number] -> [Some larger number]
     
  18. Shaker

    Shaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Norther California

    I had the second one last night: NONE -> [Some number]

    It ran today on schedule and it showed: Rapid Definitions Updated
    36821 > 36841


    I ran it again manually a few minutes later and it showed: You alread have the latest Rapid Definitions. No Update Required.


    How often do you have it set to run in your Scheduled Tasks? I have it set to run every 3 hours.
     
  19. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I have it set to check every 6 hours. I think thats enough.

    Yup,thats the checker in action :) It will take some unneccessary load from Symantec servers and users too. Its not the best,but its better than nothing.
    I thought they release these defs daily,but they release them more often than Kaspersky :D
     
  20. Shaker

    Shaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Norther California
    Thanks RejZoR.
     
  21. se7engreen

    se7engreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    USA
    You should try to sell your app to Symantec before they get smart and integrate something similar into their prog. :)
     
  22. VikingStorm

    VikingStorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    387
    They must have changed that recently (also noticed that on the site), since I've noticed the beat defs weren't out so often a few months ago, sometimes 1-2 days without a beta release.
     
  23. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Re: [My App] Norton Rapid Updater (10.10.2004)

    10.10.2004

    I have released new Norton Rapid Updater. Symantec has changed some of the URL addresses so local version checking failed with /EN string as version number.
    This is now fixed. I also tested with this corrupted entry and its self fixed. Just run this new version of Norton Rapid Updater and it will automatically repair the /EN string with the correct version number instead.

    You can get this new release here:
    www.excessive-software.tk

    Regards
    RejZoR
     
  24. jon_fl

    jon_fl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    242
    RejZor, can you give version numbers to make sure that we have the most current app? ;)
     
  25. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Ok i'll try,but program itself is running in silent mode or its done very fast,so it won't be visible so much. Maybe in Readme file or in Status dialog. That should be ok i guess :) I was thinking about auto updater system too hm... (update would update the updater lol ;) )
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.