Must be Doing Something Wrong

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Willie, Jul 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Willie

Willie Registered Member

I am new to Acronis True Image having just purchased a copy this week. I am trying to image my laptop’s 60G hard disk and put it on a new 100G disk.

I am using a Dell Latitude 810D, with 2G of memory, 1 CD/DVD read/write drive and a basic 60G hard drive. I want to use the 100G drive because I have almost run out of room on the 60G.

I ran the program and used the backup function to create an image of my 60G drive. I am using a Iomega Rev drive to as the media for this image. The image creation operation took about an hour to run and it crated 10 .tlb files on the Rev Drive media. I ran the verify image function and according to the messages, it successfully verified the image.

When I restored this image to the new 100G drive using the Restore Data Wizard, the action took almost 5 hours, which seems like a long time to me, but like I said earlier I am new to this.

When I got a successful completion message and I tried to boot this new image I get the flowing message.

“Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:
    <Windows root>\system32\hal.dll.
    Please re-install a copy of the above file.”

Anyone, what am I missing here?

Thanks in advance for any help and enlightenment.

2. dld

dld Registered Member

If you google "hal.dll corrupt or missing" you will get lots of hits. This is the first I got:

http://www.compphix.com/corrupthal.html

The fact that you got 10 .tib files probably means that your 100GB drive is formatted in FAT32 which has a 4GB file size limit. This drive should have been formatted in NTFS. This you should do once you got things sorted out. If you're using WinXP you can format this drive by right-clicking My Computer\Manage\Storage\Disk Management.