Multiple TIBs

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by RonNYC, Apr 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RonNYC

    RonNYC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    My Acronis TI has now worked for several days. I have a question:

    While changing the backup time, etc., I think I changed the name of the backup file. That meant that now I have two files, the first, from the first backup and the second from the second backup created after I changed the time (and the name). So...my question is: Can I just delete the first backup?
     
  2. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    The name can be any name as long as the extension is .tib .... so if you have every confidence that the second backup is good then by all means delete the first.
     
  3. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Was the 2nd backup a FULL backup?
    If so, then it is entirely independent of the 1st backup.

    Otherwise, you would have to retain both files, but I'm not sure whether you can manually change the names of the files when there has been a differential/incremental backup. Depends on whether the files have the file name internally.
     
  4. RonNYC

    RonNYC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    The scheduled backup was incremental BUT: I made a change in the scheduler and created a second backup schedule with a different name. I deleted the first. When the scheduled backup started, I assume, not seeing any TIB with the correct name, it did a full backup as the first time, even though there was a TIB already on that drive. Both are about the same size.
     
  5. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Yes, I believe you are correct. If an INC task runs and cannot find a FULL with the same file name, it creates a FULL.
     
  6. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802

    yes, to retain the same base file, it is necessary to also rename the file in the task definition.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello RonNYC,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Yes, you are right. If you scheduled a task to create incremental/differential backup and rename or delete the full backup on which this incremental/differential backup is based then Acronis True Image 9.0 Home will create a full backup.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  8. RonNYC

    RonNYC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Thanks for your help. I just want to make sure that the app is running correctly. Here is the output from the log for April 11:

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
    <log build="2337" product="Acronis True Image" uuid="E5F93EB5-2D27-4729-ABB6-7FEEC6539E7E" version="9.0">
    <event code="2" id="1" message="The &quot:Daily 3AM Backup of C and D&quot; operation started" module="100" time="1144738804" type="2" />
    <event code="503" id="2" message="Analyzing partition 0-0..." module="1" time="1144738805" type="2" />
    <event code="503" id="3" message="Analyzing partition D:..." module="1" time="1144738805" type="2" />
    <event code="503" id="4" message="Analyzing partition C:..." module="1" time="1144738806" type="2" />
    <event code="503" id="5" message="Analyzing partition 0-0..." module="1" time="1144738806" type="2" />
    <event code="503" id="6" message="Analyzing partition K:..." module="1" time="1144738806" type="2" />
    <event code="503" id="7" message="Analyzing partition 2-5..." module="1" time="1144738806" type="2" />
    <event code="503" id="8" message="Analyzing partition 2-5..." module="1" time="1144738806" type="2" />
    <event code="503" id="9" message="Analyzing partition D:..." module="1" time="1144738809" type="2" />
    <event code="503" id="10" message="Analyzing partition C:..." module="1" time="1144738811" type="2" />
    <event code="1008" id="11" message="&lt;bold>Create Incremental Backup Archive&lt;/bold>&lt;endl/>&lt;tabpoint value=30>&lt;indent value=4>From: &lt;indent value=10>&lt;textcolor value=&quot;navyblue&quot;>Disk 1&lt;/textcolor>&lt;/indent>&lt;indent value=4>&lt;endl/>To file: &lt;indent value=10>&lt;textcolor value=&quot;navyblue&quot;>&quot;K:\MyBackup.tib&quot;&lt;/textcolor>&lt;/indent>&lt;indent value=4>&lt;endl/>&lt;textcolor value=0x00ff0000>Password protected&lt;/textcolor>&lt;endl/>Compression: &lt;indent value=10>&lt;textcolor value=&quot;navyblue&quot;>Normal&lt;/textcolor>&lt;/indent>&lt;indent value=4>&lt;endl/>&lt;/indent>" module="1" time="1144738812" type="2" />
    <event code="504" id="12" message="Pending operation 113 started: &quot;Saving partition structure&quot;" module="1" time="1144738812" type="2" />
    <event code="504" id="13" message="Pending operation 116 started: &quot;Creating partition image&quot;" module="1" time="1144738813" type="2" />
    <event code="504" id="14" message="Pending operation 116 started: &quot;Creating partition image&quot;" module="1" time="1144738924" type="2" />
    <event code="6" id="15" message="Operation has succeeded." module="100" time="1144739636" type="2" />
    </log>


    On my K: drive, I have these backup files:

    MyBackup2.tib (767645kb) (4/10/06)
    MyBackup3.tib (779391kb) (4/11/06)
    MyBackup.tib (41,014,525kb) (4/11/06)

    What I want to know is this: does this look "as expected"? I have two drives, C: and D:. D: is used entirely by the OS for something, but I figured, back it up also (it's a logical drive).

    RON
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello RonNYC,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Yes, Acronis True Image works correctly on your computer.

    However, we recommend you to verify your image integrity by means of Check Archive tool in the program.

    You can find the detailed information on how to use Acronis True Image 9.0 Home in the respective User's Guide.

    If you have any further questions please feel free to ask.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
  10. RonNYC

    RonNYC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Well, that's good news...but then I have another question, if you don't mind.

    With each run of TI, it seems there is another 700mB of backup added to my drive. Currently, I have this:

    04/09/2006 04:24 AM 41,998,873,088 MyBackup.tib
    04/10/2006 03:14 AM 785,884,160 MyBackup2.tib
    04/11/2006 03:13 AM 798,095,872 MyBackup3.tib
    04/12/2006 03:14 AM 705,617,408 MyBackup4.tib
    04/13/2006 03:15 AM 1,337,206,272 MyBackup5.tib <--Added system and hidden files.

    BUt you see the issue: Eventually, I'll run out of space on the backup drive. It's 250gB but with an additional 700mB each night, after about a year, it will be full (in reality, much less).

    What about the earlier backups? MyBackup2-4? Are they redundant? Can I delete them? MyBackup.tib is, I guess, the original backup and the others are incremental backups.

    RON
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Ron,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please note that an incremental image contains all changes that have been made since the latest incremental or full image was created. If one full image and several incremental were created, all of these images must be saved in the same folder so that you will be able to restore the data. If one of incremental images or a full image is deleted, there is no way to restore the set, since all images are dependent on each other. So if you delete your incremental images (Mybackup2-4), you are not able to restore Mybackup5.tib. You will be able to restore only the full image.

    We recommend you to create a differental image. The differential image contains all changes that have been done after the full image creation. To restore a differential image, you need to have only the latest differential image and the full one.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
  12. RonNYC

    RonNYC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Yes, differential seems the better way for my needs.

    My question is this, then: Is it better for me to delete the backups and start fresh with a differential backup or should I (can I?) convert the incremental backups to a differential?

    Thanks again.

    RON
     
  13. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello RonNYC,

    Please note that you will not be able to "convert" the incremental backup to a differential one. You can create a new set of differential backups based on the full backup, if you do not need the old backups.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.