multiple tabs disappear

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by BobLewiston, Mar 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BobLewiston

    BobLewiston Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    Recently my browser started to repeatedly lose the ability to support multiple tabs. In Internet Explorer 8, I click on the drop-down menu arrow on the right side of the Command Bar's Home button, select Add or Change Home Page from that drop-down menu, and then select "Use the current tab set as your home page" in the Add or Change Home Page dialog box. Then I launch another instance of the browser and close the original one. Then I've got multiple tabs. Sometimes they'll still be there the next time I boot up, but after a couple times, they're gone again. I have an installation of Windows that’s only a few weeks old (so I doubt any files are corrupted), and all my antivirus and antimalware software tells me I’m as clean as a whistle. How do I fix this?

    BTW, here is what's selected in IE | Tools | Internet Options | General tab | Tabs | Settings:

    Enable Tabbed Browsing
    Warn me when closing multiple tabs
    Enable Quick Tabs
    Enable Tab Groups
    Always open pop-ups in a new window
    A new tab in the current window
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2010
  2. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    944
    Hi there

    I'd reset IE and see if the problem persists - maybe it was somehow foxed by a setting you applied.

    (Tools > Internet Options > Advanced > Reset)

    HTH

    philby
     
  3. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I have a similar problem on my company-provided computer, but not on my home computer. From time to time, my tabset that I have saved as my home page setting is gone, and all that is left is the company intranet homepage.

    I believe that happens because our company IT periodically pushes out certain configurations automatically to all computers, e.g., software updates. So I assume they are clobbering my homepage.

    What I've done is to copy/paste my homepage settings from =>tools/internet options into a text file, and then I can recopy them back into the homepage box in tools/internet options. Not a perfect solution, but I can live with it. I've always meant to ask IT about this, but never got around to it.

    P.S. I have IE7 on office computer and IE8 at home
     
  4. BobLewiston

    BobLewiston Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    I don't think that's the problem, based on my Tab settings that I cited above.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.