Multiple imagers on system

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by napoleon1815, Aug 20, 2016.

  1. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    Hey all! Been a while since I posted! Question...any known issues having two imaging tools installed (and used) on the same desktop? Specifically I mean IFW and Macrium. This is for live images. Thanks!
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,057
    I have Macrium and IFW installed on two systems with no conflicts. The biggest conflict I am aware of is Shadowprotect and Macrium
     
  3. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    Ok thanks. In the past I only did offline (cold) images so this didn't matter but live is just easier at times. I prefer to use at least two products for better protection. Thanks for the input! Tested it on my laptop ok but wanted to get more opinions!
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,057
    Hi Napoleon

    I also have AOMEI professional installed. It plays nicely also
     
  5. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    Not to go off topic but how do you like AOMEI? Installed and used it the other day at work and worked fine...some formatting issues with the GUI (text would go to normal to big). Reliabile? Looking for a reason to pull the trigger.
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,057
    I like it. It hasn't failed. But I would use the linux recovery environment(Same with IFW) It's twice as fast.
     
  7. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,524
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Good question!

    I've been using EaseUS Todo Backup Advanced Server v4.5 FOREVER.

    I don't think it would play nice with any other imagers. But I don't have the energy to try. Anybody know?
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,057
    Can't help you on that zapjb. I've never had any luck with EaseUS, they always fail restores.
     
  9. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,524
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Different experience here. Literally done hundreds of restores [W7] most to different hardware with EaseUS Todo Backup Advanced Server v4.5. Never had a failure.
     
  10. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
    It works fine for me too. But on my SSD I have to boot twice his recovery DVD, the first it doesn't work. The only thing that AOMEI miss is something as Acronis Recovery Zone that creates a protected zone in the HD and allows to boot the recovery directly from the pc. I could choose the pay version of AOMEI if it gives to me this.
     
  11. Krysis

    Krysis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    DownUnder
    Been using Macrium, Paragon B & R and Easeus Todo (free versions) to run 3 image backups weekly (to 3 different external drives) for years without issue.

    All have proven reliable, whether backing up, or restoring. (I only run full hard disk image backups – have no use for differential\incremental backups)
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,057
    Why not on incrementals. I had no problem using them with Macrium, IFW, AOMEI and Shadowprotect among others. In testing Macrium I even let incremental chains go as long as 40, with no issues at all.
     
  13. Krysis

    Krysis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    DownUnder
    It's not about whether there are problems with incrementals – I just don't see the point of bothering with incrementals if I'm running 3 full image backups each week.
    Time and disk space are not issues for me.
     
  14. Stode

    Stode Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    310
    Location:
    Finland
    I have AX64, Aomei Backupper,and Macrium Reflect Installed on my system,
    but I only use Macrium cause it is the most reliable backupper I know..
    AX64 has some problems, that's why I am not using it..
     
Loading...