MultiCore AntiVirus & AntiSpyware

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by kjempen, Apr 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kjempen

    kjempen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Posts:
    379
    Does anybody have any experience with this product (from NuWave Software). They put in their product description that it consists of 4 engines; F-Prot, Norman, Ad-Aware, CounterSpy. Sounds promising, if it is not too buggy or resource-hungry?
     
  2. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    Well, maybe you could be the first to test it, and tell the rest of us? :D


    Cheers
     
  3. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
  4. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    NuWave doesn't seem to be a big company - support might become an issue......Also there is not real address for contacting (only email) so I suppose this product might be a small-scale operation, kinda like eXtendia AVK. :doubt:
     
  5. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Anyone using this one?
    Sounds very bloathed
     
  6. kjempen

    kjempen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Posts:
    379
    I'm testing it a bit now. You can easily disable/enable whichever engine you want to use real-time (on-access) and whichever engine you want to use in scanning (on-demand). So far as I can see, you can't do an antivirus and antispyware scan (on-demand) in one go (f.ex. use the Frisk engine and the Sunbelt engine). You can only do either an antispyware scan (Lavasoft/Sunbelt) or antivirus scan (Frisk/Norman). The interface looks rather nice and is easy to understand, in my opinion. A drawback I noticed is that it seems to be a bit more "limited" in options compared to having the "real" product/scanner. I also noticed in the first update that it downloaded almost 130 MBs? o_O Hope this is just something because of first-time use, would be rather unpractical if all updates are like this.

    Here are some screen-shots:

    (The antivirus)
    MCAVAS01.jpg

    (The antispyware)
    MCAVAS02.jpg

    (The quarantine)
    MCAVAS03.jpg

    (The antivirus configuration screen, couldn't find a similar one for antispyware)
    MCAVAS04.jpg

    As others have mentioned, support might not be perfect, but the product looks good, and hopefully it will get a chance to improve and become even better. As for the bloat, I guess that comes down to what you choose to use, just disable/enable whichever engine you want to use.
     
  7. Nike_P

    Nike_P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Europe
    the GUI look nice and friendly, but i dont know about their detection-rate?
     
  8. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Looks quite a slick interface and an interesting product.

    Not too bad for the price. Is it using the latest F-Prot engine or the previous version?

    If it's the previous version, not too bad considering the Norman engine is running as well. Noticed they also say it has no known conflicts with any other security software.
     
  9. kjempen

    kjempen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Posts:
    379
    From my observations, it seems to be the latest F-Prot engine, as I've noticed Eldorado and Maximus detections.

    As far as I know, F-Prot and Norman combined should give pretty decent protection. And if you couple it with Ad-Aware and CounterSpy combined, then it shouldn't let much malware slip past :cool: .

    I just wish I could select individually what it should clean (and not clean).

    As others have noted, the price is ok considering you get 4 antimalware engines in one package.
     
  10. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Thanks for that.

    How's the CPU usage when idle? What's the default update settings, every few hours?
     
  11. Nike_P

    Nike_P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Europe
    If it use latest f-prot engine then no thanks, nothing for me:D
     
  12. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    422
    Are there something wrong with the F-Prot engine then?
     
  13. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    From what I've read, latest F-Prot engine appears to be doing very well and don't see people complaining about Norman. :)

    Looked at the screenshots more closely, and it looks very easy to use for all users. Allows a user to select a spyware scan of only 'system files', or 'registry' and so on for the AV scanner. It's a simple step but definitely a good feature to have when you're short on time.

    I noticed it's selling for US$49. Norman AV/AS sells for US$68.

    How's the program running, no crashes or slowdowns?
     
  14. Arin

    Arin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    997
    Location:
    India
    vendor detected total percent

    F-Prot6 19208787 19631830 97.85%
    AntiVir 20752439 21301693 97.42%
    DrWeb 20383675 21083690 96.68%
    F-Secure 18791666 19494824 96.39%
    Norman 19324960 20745560 93.15%
    NOD32 19481293 21301816 91.45%
    Vexira 19421014 21302316 91.17%
    AVG7 19409092 21302058 91.11%
    McAfee 18941384 21302316 88.92%
    Avast 18544641 21242962 87.30%
    VirusBuster 17889992 21008036 85.16%
    Kaspersky 16171248 21302316 75.91%
    Panda 15631267 21290873 73.42%
    BitDefender 15584541 21302262 73.16%
    Clam 14438347 21302262 67.78%
    VBA32 11589080 20236921 57.27%

    (source: shadowserver.org yearly stats)
     
  15. Nike_P

    Nike_P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Europe
    never in my life that i would belive that drweb, norman and f-prot score's better then Nod32.
    I really dont belive in this test.
     
  16. kjempen

    kjempen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Posts:
    379
    I haven't had any crashes or problems with the program yet. So far it's running ok here on Vista SP1. But I don't use the real-time monitor much, as I already have Avira. Just testing it for fun, and checking, by on-demand scans, if there's anything Avira have let slip through.

    Guess it is worth noting that the program uses 4 processes, which total to nearly 170 MBs in memory. Seems to be a bit resource-hungry.
     
  17. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Is that resource usage with Avira shutdown or still running?
     
  18. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    422
    Ok, you are that kind of guy..

    ;)
     
  19. rayoflight

    rayoflight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Posts:
    180
  20. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    AVG engine has been added. Install exe is only around 12 MB however their mainpage list that you dont need to deinstall your current anti virus or anti spyware and somehow i think thats a bad advice!

    Anyone else used this?
     
  21. hex_614

    hex_614 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    very nice, they added avg engine, which is good in heuristic and spyware detections.
     
  22. guest

    guest Guest

    what about cleaning performance?

    "MultiCore AntiVirus & AntiSpyware doesn’t require a user to uninstall other security software such as: firewalls, antiviruses, antispywares, antispam filters etc)! "
    " MultiCore AntiVirus & AntiSpyware is fully compatible with all popular security software from leading vendors. "

    can i use it with avira?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 8, 2008
  23. nasdaqms

    nasdaqms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Posts:
    38
    I agree with your opionion,support is a very important thing for av.
    we can expect this corp do more things to the user experience.
    as the multicore problem,i think it is not necessary.You can do the things better for one core.and multi things may lead a lot of problems.for example:compatibility@
    and, i will try to test it@
     
  24. nasdaqms

    nasdaqms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Posts:
    38
    i am very care about the real-time monitor ,this is the proactive defense era.
    and 170 MBs in memory is a hard thing to imagine!multicore lead this problem?
    expecting for answer@
     
  25. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Personally i never look at resource usage, i just observe slow downs and so far haven't noticed that much.

    Did get alot of fp's, for some reason could not send them in but they told me if they r not pirated software i can exclude them but my os is as well not pirated - does not mean i trust it.

    So will run this trial for a lil while, n check in here now and then 2 note down pro's n cons.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.