msinfo menu entry

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by reflex, Jul 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. reflex

    reflex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Hi again everybody - I wonder if anyone here can help me out a little - i have created a registry key so that i can launch MSinfo32 from the context menu instead of having to type it into the run box, the registry export of the key is below - my problem is this - i can get it to run fine from the drive context menu - but i would like to place it in the "my computer" context menu, does anyone know which key to modify to do this?

    //reg key:

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell\Sysinfo]

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell\Sysinfo\Command]
    @="C:\\Program Files\\Common Files\\Microsoft shared\\MSInfo\\msinfo32.exe"

    //End reg key:

    i also tried %systemroot%\msinfo32.exe so that it could be used on any system no matter what partition the OS was on - but that didn't work - any ideas here ?

    thanks in advance
     
  2. Close_Hauled

    Close_Hauled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    California

    So what you are saying is that you want to be able to choose "Run MSInfo" when your right click on "My Computer", correct?

    Try this: ActiveWindows

    Close Hauled
     
  3. reflex

    reflex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    indeed that is what I would like to do - this page is really good - but it doesn't appear to help you put the menu item in the root directory =/ - thanks tho - useful information on registry here
    :)
     
  4. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Try this:

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\msinfo32]

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\msinfo32\command]
    @="\"msinfo32.exe\" %1"


    Nick
     
  5. Close_Hauled

    Close_Hauled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    California
    What do you mean by "root directory"? Root directory of what?

    Close Hauled
     
  6. reflex

    reflex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks Nick this works perfectly :)

    the root i was referring to would be "my computer" close :) thanks for the help all...!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.