msinfo menu entry

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by reflex, Jul 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. reflex

    reflex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Hi again everybody - I wonder if anyone here can help me out a little - i have created a registry key so that i can launch MSinfo32 from the context menu instead of having to type it into the run box, the registry export of the key is below - my problem is this - i can get it to run fine from the drive context menu - but i would like to place it in the "my computer" context menu, does anyone know which key to modify to do this?

    //reg key:

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell\Sysinfo]

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell\Sysinfo\Command]
    @="C:\\Program Files\\Common Files\\Microsoft shared\\MSInfo\\msinfo32.exe"

    //End reg key:

    i also tried %systemroot%\msinfo32.exe so that it could be used on any system no matter what partition the OS was on - but that didn't work - any ideas here ?

    thanks in advance
     
  2. Close_Hauled

    Close_Hauled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    California

    So what you are saying is that you want to be able to choose "Run MSInfo" when your right click on "My Computer", correct?

    Try this: ActiveWindows

    Close Hauled
     
  3. reflex

    reflex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    indeed that is what I would like to do - this page is really good - but it doesn't appear to help you put the menu item in the root directory =/ - thanks tho - useful information on registry here
    :)
     
  4. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Try this:

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\msinfo32]

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\msinfo32\command]
    @="\"msinfo32.exe\" %1"


    Nick
     
  5. Close_Hauled

    Close_Hauled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    California
    What do you mean by "root directory"? Root directory of what?

    Close Hauled
     
  6. reflex

    reflex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks Nick this works perfectly :)

    the root i was referring to would be "my computer" close :) thanks for the help all...!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.