MSE; Does Anyone Still Use It?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Daveski17, Aug 28, 2015.

  1. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I'm just curious as due to the 2016 Panda Free being a tad buggy I've gone back to MSE on Win 7.
     
  2. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    I use on some computers windows defender on win10 along with mbae
     
  3. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK, thanks for the reply. I guess MSE is more or less the same as Defender on 10. I know a fair few people running Win 8/10 just use Defender and don't bother with an alternative AV.
     
  4. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,279
    I used MSE on Windows 7 x64 since I began using this OS, some 5 years ago, until early this year, when I began to use Panda. Now I am going back to it. In Windows 8.1/10 I use Defender.
     
  5. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yeah, like you I used MSE on Win 7 x64 for at least four years and only changed to Panda Free in the last few months. I find that MSE's still pretty light.
     
  6. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Same here, although I use MBAM Pro as well.
     
  7. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    836
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    I use it along with MBAM and MBAE.
     
  8. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Does MBAE work with Maxthon?
     
  9. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    768
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    Just curious, have you ever been infected? I don't put much faith in computer security test ratings on security software.
     
  10. haakon

    haakon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Posts:
    756
    Location:
    SW USA
    I'm still on the fence with a Windows 8.1 system I got a few days ago. I'm running Defender but it seems like I'll have to live with the little yellow ! sign on the icon and a potentially unprotected status as it might take months for it to act on a "You haven't run a scan..."

    So I went for a Quick one. Things were going rapidly until the progress bar ground to a halt ½ way through where the scan went to about four items a second and threw the CPU to ~75% and raised the core 9°C. I can cancel and restart the scan, no mas.

    Haven't yet had a chance to look for the instructions to build a scheduled task to check for updates more often. I heard every four hours is a good interval.

    Also running MBAM & MBAE Premiums and Zemana AntiLogger not-free.
     
  11. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    I use it or Windows Defender on some computers. It's of course crap, but in my experience it causes fewer software conflicts and other problems than many third party anti-malware suites.
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2015
  12. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,061
    I don't use any more. Did use it few years ago, but found it slowing down my computing too much.
     
  13. Martin_C

    Martin_C Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Posts:
    220
    I'm using MSEs big brother - Windows Defender on Windows 10 Pro.
    Working great.

    Windows Defender.
    Windows SmartScreen.
    Windows Firewall.
    HitmanPro.Alert.

    Light and trouble-free setup.
     
  14. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,015

    I haven't used MSE and Windows Defender.
     
  15. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I've never been infected on my Win 7 box or my Vista laptop whilst using MSE. I stopped using the AV I got with my ISP (McAfee) because it was too heavy for my underpowered laptop around 2009 and switched to the new Panda Cloud freeware. It lasted a day after a false positive incident and I went with MSE. It's difficult to be objective about the efficacy of MSE when so many people claim that it is worse than useless and yet I've never been infected when running it. My only real gripe with it is that I have to manually update its definitions.
     
  16. phalanaxus

    phalanaxus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Posts:
    499
    You never being infected doesn't mean software itself is good or effective, maybe you simply have safe browsing/using habits? Do you remember it preventing malware ?
     
  17. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Sorry, I'll rephrase that for you.

    MSE; Does Anyone Who Once Ran MSE And Then Changed To An Alternate Third Party Anti-Virus Solution For Whatever Subjective Reasons Now Run MSE Again?

    :thumb:
     
  18. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yes, I'm guessing it's more my browsing habits and possible browser hardening that is the primary reason I've not been infected while using MSE. The trouble is, the only other AV's that have prevented anything have proved to be false positives, with the sole exception of Avast! which once removed PUP's from KMPlayer on a routine update. So the same could equally true for any other AV I have used. I once got a trojan on an old laptop that Norton failed to detect but SUPERAntiSpyware found and removed.
     
  19. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I haven't noticed any real difference on resources between MSE and Panda 2016, apart from the fact that MSE doesn't slow down downloads.
     
  20. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    This is the bit that worries me.

    This is the bit why I've returned to MSE.

    ;)
     
  21. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,061
    Yes, I noticed it's impact after I removed it and saw how computing got quicker. That was years ago, don't know how things are now.
     
  22. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I'm only noticing the usual MSE things, like if you open a folder full of executables it has to rescan them every time.
     
  23. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Can you not exclude them from scanning..?
    Whitelist etc.
     
  24. SMPRICESOLUTIONS

    SMPRICESOLUTIONS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Posts:
    35
  25. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    It's possible probably, but it's not a biggie, I guess I can live with it lol. It's having to manually update MSE that's the main drag.
     
Loading...