MSE beta v1.0.1963.0

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by funkydude, Jun 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    The current release is 1961 so I wouldn't expect many changes in 2 digit higher build, also it's made by Microsoft so don't expect a changelog.

    This beta was auto updated on people using the current "extended beta" version. For those using the release version, you can find upgrade links here:

    Vista/7 x64: http://rapidshare.com/files/398166701/1.0.1963.0_x64.zip
    Vista/7 x32: http://rapidshare.com/files/398175135/1.0.1963_x86.zip

    The files should be digitally signed by Microsoft and versions should be tagged as 1.0.1963.0

    Use setup.exe to install. No issues here.
     
  2. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    What news does it bring? Extended cloud features?
     
  3. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    Haha, maybe one day.
     
  4. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    Well, it does have cloud features, but it'd be neat with more of it.
     
  5. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    I got this from the MSE newgroup at https://connect.microsoft.com/ Where you can DL MS betas from.
     
  6. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    "some enhancements and compatibility fixes"

    That clears it all up. lol
     
  7. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    im glad they are updating it unlike windows defender that died fast lol
     
  8. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    Is this a direct download link? Rapidshare will not let me download the file.
     
  9. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    Not exactly direct, did you select free user? That's what I did to download them. (I didn't upload them).
     
  10. phaser

    phaser Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Posts:
    35
    I've tried the beta but nothing's changed for me... MSE has a massive CPU & RAM usage that doesn't go down (I've tested on Win XP/7 on my system and also in a Virtual Machine)...
     
  11. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    Yeah, uses a ton of resources. And I tested it again some 0 day threats, and it did not perform all that great. It was a small sample size, but it did not inspire confidence.
     
  12. simisg

    simisg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    Greece
    its true mse is very heavy on cpu....
     
  13. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    It's pretty light IMO. I've had it installed on my girlfriend's computer and neither she nor I notice and difference on system impact compared to i.e. Avast and Avira.
     
  14. iravgupta

    iravgupta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Posts:
    605
  15. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
  16. thanatos_theos

    thanatos_theos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Posts:
    540
    @ravi16aug
    That is by design. By default, MSE emulates runtime packed files in realtime. You can't disable that unfortunately. As for the lag disappearing the 2nd time around, MSE uses some sort of transient caching.

    Try clearing your icon cache. See if it makes a difference.

    I believe the transient caching only works for the guard. I think there is no persistent caching for the scanner at the moment.
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2010
  17. iravgupta

    iravgupta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Posts:
    605
    I understand that, but other AVs like avast! and Antivir seem to achieve that without any significant lag. So there is some performance tuning to be done here.

    Nope, it does not.

    Even for guard its not consistent.

    When I reported the issue, I was using an acer notebook; sadly these issues followed me even after i switched to a Fujitsu notebook with a completely different configuration. This is a very annoying and given MSE's development pace so far, I am not holding my breath.
     
  18. Luxeon

    Luxeon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    127
    Hmm. I am running V. 1961, and there hasn't been an update in 2 days...I can't even manually update. Strange.
     
  19. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,938
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Luxeon, I have the same version as you and I have noticed the update issue as well.

    When that happens, I go to Get the latest definitions, download my MSE 64-bit version, saving it to a folder, and then, I run it as an Administrator.

    Be aware that the file size is 54+ MB! :ouch:
     
  20. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Looks like there may be update server issues (ref: post by ahullet on the first page):

    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r24399314-MSE-Updates

    Give it a while and then try the update later or use the manual update method until they get the issue sorted.

    Mike
     
  21. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
  22. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    http://social.answers.microsoft.com...e/thread/60b2bd80-00f9-4fd2-91c7-31b78404f5c4


    At the time of creating the previous post, I checked MSE and the definitions were 2 days old, hitting check for updates stated I had the latest. Doing it now has successfully downloaded the latest engine version and signature set. So at least for me, the issue is resolved.
     
  23. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    No wonder why I have had no updates the last two days. :)
     
  24. thanatos_theos

    thanatos_theos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Posts:
    540
    The problem is that MSE is not as configurable as some AVs. The guards of Avast5 and NOD32 don't scan such files by default but you can configure them to. The (sensitive) web scanner of those two compensates for that. It's just different companies/devs think and work differently.

    Maybe you will notice a difference if one laptop has a more powerful processor and higher ram. But still MSE (as configured) will scan such files in realtime on both machines.
     
  25. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    Update servers are working again.
    I just manually updated around 0130 hrs..
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.