MSE a Good Added Layer?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by drhu22, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    343
    Im thinking of using it along with Panda Free.
    Despite MSEs poor showing in av tests, I was thinking maybe it would be ok for an added layer of protection. I seem to remember reading about certain malware that it catches that others tend to miss. Does anyone remember that? I remember it being very light performance wise also.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2014
  2. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    I see no reason to use MSE on top of Panda. And MSE isn't that light either. Just make sure windows firewall is on, and use a router.
     
  3. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,095
  4. Windows_Security

    Windows_Security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3,081
    Location:
    Netherlands
    On win 8.1 I use Windows Defender + MalwareBytes Anti-Malware. WD has same protection features as MSE. WD is integrated in OS, it uses CPU and RAM, but its impact on performance is not noticeable. Simple protection features fof WD allow for easy performance optimization: caching microsoft signed, delaying exe + file checks until usage threshold is passed (because of interval of monitor, CPU usage in practise is below 5% in my tests). MBAM Premium is designed to work on top of AV.

    On Win 8 I use Panda Free only (real lifet protection stats are great and it has lower impacta on browsing and application start as MSE).

    With every monthly Windows update you get most widely spread clean up anyway with MSRT. So I would not add MSE
     
  5. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    MSE is no layer at all.. LOL

    Seriously? I've never seen MSE stop anything on any machine our MSP monitors that they insist on running MSE, and they are the most infected machines I've ever dealt with. In conclusion I would say it's almost entirely pointless.
     
  6. phyniks

    phyniks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    No
    especially when there are some better,lighter, free alternatives
     
  7. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    343
    Thanks for that very helpful answer... I'll just turn on WD.
     
  8. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    What OS do you have? WD is only equivalent of MSE in Windows 8+.
     
  9. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
  10. stephentony

    stephentony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    USA
  11. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    InnoculateIT was very sweet, I used it.

    Add to that;

    Pest Patrol
    BOClean
    GIANT Antispyware
    Threatfire
    eXtendia AVK (used Kaspersky+RAV - POWERHOUSE)
     
Loading...