msconfig

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by maxoblivion, Oct 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maxoblivion

maxoblivion Registered Member

I have an entry in msconfig/Startup with a check in a box but blank space under Item and Location. Has anyone seen this sort of thing before? I'm wondering if it might be related to my win32/trojandownloader.zlob.bfl infestation. SC_Keylog has been detected by both Counterspy and Spyware Doctor (not Spysweeper or NOD32) and each time it is removed, it reappears within a day. I'm wondering if it's reinstalled at startup. Interesting to me is the detected location of SC_Keylog, a desktop shortcut to an Excel spreadsheet. Each time it reappears, the location is the same shortcut.

2. Thankful

Thankful Savings Monitor

Last edited: Oct 8, 2007
  3. Kerodo

Kerodo Registered Member

I have seen blank entries in msconfig before also, and they're not necessarily related to anything bad. If you scan completely with a few programs and you're clean, I wouldn't worry much about it...

4. maxoblivion

maxoblivion Registered Member

I'm going to uncheck it and see what happens.

5. tradetime

tradetime Registered Member

Best bet imho, after scanning as suggested, if that doesn't solve the problem, is to upload a HJT log to one of the sites that analyses and helps with malware removal, they will tell you if anything untoward is lurking.

6. Seer

Seer Registered Member

Hi max.

I have Adobe Acrobat (not Reader) installed. It creates a blank entry in HKLM\Run (msconfig startup) for [SIZE=-1]Adobe Speed Launch. I have disabled the entry, and Adobe launcher doesn't start when I boot my rig anymore. Now, why exactly is it showing as a blank entry, I have no idea o_O