MS SP2

Discussion in 'polls' started by gerardwil, Jul 22, 2004.

?

When do you install SP2

Poll closed Sep 2, 2004.
  1. I install right away

    25.6%
  2. I wait and see

    67.4%
  3. I wont install at all

    4.7%
  4. I don't use Windows

    2.3%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It seems Microsoft releases the final SP2 (hmmm what's final) by the end of august. I think (but nothing more than that) there could be some trouble with other apps. after installing SP2. So I will wait and see what happens and wont install right away. How about you dear Wilders members?
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,779
    Location:
    Texas
    I will wait on that one too. Sure to be problems along the way.
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I think the prudent thing thing to do is wait a little while until they get the inevetable little bugs out. ;)
     
  4. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    I will see whether if MS has really fixed every single problem with XP SP2 before I dare to touch it. I'm not gonna put my computer at risk.
     
  5. blabhead

    blabhead Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Massachusetts,U.S.A.
    i will wait also.it will be interesting to see how many services XP SP2 reenables that i have disabled
     
  6. MikeBCda

    MikeBCda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    southern Ont. Canada
    Good point -- way too many of the SP1 services which were on by default were at the very least resources hogs, and in some cases outright risks. The only one I actually disabled was Messenger, but there were quite a few others I changed startup from auto to manual.
     
  7. dog

    dog Guest

    I have no Fear .... ;) :D :blink:

    I will install it the instant it's released ... I let you all know how it goes. ;)

    dog - *puppy*
     
  8. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Beware of the Dog *puppy*
     
  9. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Wow dog, you really have a no-fear-at-all attitude. Rather :cool:!
     
  10. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    I'll install it too, a tester can't resist to test a new toy ;)
     
  11. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    SP2 RC2 is already installed on my machines ;)
     
  12. Vaudeville

    Vaudeville Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Posts:
    22
    I think I'll wait, don't want to put my PC at risk.
     
  13. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,779
    Location:
    Texas
    Getting close! Bump!
     
  14. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    I do have fear, so thanks a bunch, Dog! I'll be looking for your report. :)
     
  15. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    I will install it instantly after the year 2008.....by that time I'm hoping the more adventurous of you will have kicked the C++p out of it and made it a wonderful thing to behold... ;)

    Cochise, :cool:
     
  16. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  17. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Like GK I like playing with new toys :) BUT only after taking a full disk image of my current setup ;)
     
  18. Bowserman

    Bowserman Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    510
    Location:
    South Australia
    I have already installed it :D - I slipstreamed it onto disc and installed completely fresh.....no problems at all yet (Of course, I made a full disk image beforehand ;)). I am using less RAM than before SP2, with all the same applications installed (I actually have a couple more apps running on this SP2 setup....and still less RAM usage :D. I just hope my good fortune continues!

    Best regards,
    Jade.
     
  19. meneer

    meneer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Posts:
    1,132
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I don't use windows XP.
    But now that sp2 is a reality I might upgrade from W2K :doubt:
     
  20. manOFpeace

    manOFpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Posts:
    716
    Location:
    Ireland
    I voted not to install at all. I reformatted last weekend and last thing I done was stick in SP1 disk, a complete disaster especially after reformat. Had to start over again.
    Now my intentions are not to install/download anything further from WUP.
    My setup and security in my opinion will keep me safe. :rolleyes:
     
  21. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    I had a look at the Site where it says you can order the SP2 CD?....but all I can see is a kind helpful message from M$ saying Click here and we will upload it when we're ready!!!......I don't think so Bill, thank you very much.... :rolleyes:


    Cochise, :cool:
     
  22. Rui

    Rui Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    141
    Location:
    Portugal
    Hi all
    I chose the option not to install SP2 at all.
    I do not use IE, nor Outlook Express or Windows Messenger.
    I am not running Windows native firewall, but Outpost Pro.
    Can anyone tell me what do I need SP2 for?
    Regards
    Rui
     
  23. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
  24. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    I think I'll wait and see also. I been seeing a lot of bugs and problems being reported.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. emmjay
    Replies:
    32
    Views:
    1,588
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.