MS Edge

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by boredog, Jun 23, 2016.

  1. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1,181
    Hello

    was looking at sanboxie's site because I saw a 20 % off coupon and it isn't showing the Edge browser listed in protected programs. just wanted to see if they do sandbox Edge by asking here.

    thanks
     
  2. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    2,217
    Location:
    in a remote land :)
    No they can't for the moment because Edge is ran under Appcontainer (Windows' own sandbox mechanism) which is in a deeper integrity level than Sandboxie.

    However, Sbie paid version has a lot of useful features.
     
  3. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Boredog, Metro apps and Edge are not compatible with Sandboxie at this time. Perhaps in the future they will. You can read about Edge in the known conflicts webpage from the Sandboxie site.
    http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?KnownConflicts#Windows 10

    Bo
     
  4. Windows_Security

    Windows_Security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3,093
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Sandboxie's added value lies in adding a Low IL/Guest User ACL sandbox to programs which dont have one like Firefox.

    The chances of Microsoft adding all the capabilities to the AppContainer sandbox which Sandboxie adds as a control (block/pass) layer to Low IL/Guest User ACL Sandbox are very slim

    Perhaps in the future? Better buy a lottery ticket and hope to win it. :argh:
     
  5. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1,181
    it has been many years since I ran sandboxie.

    does it require a reboot to get rid of any changes from the sand box? or are they off your computer just by leaving the box?

    I noticed the new beta over on their forum. 5.12 RC

    also wonder how it would work within quietzone.
     
  6. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    No, Sandboxie doesn't require a reboot to get rid of changes. To get rid of changes you either set the sandbox to delete contents automatically on closing of the sandboxed program, or you can delete contents manually when you wish. This is one of the things that make Sandboxie more convenient than Light virtualization programs which require the reboot.

    RC 5.12 became stable 5.12. You can use the installer that you saw at the beta thread or get it from the link below.
    http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?AllVersions

    I never used Quietzone but if that's basically the same old Returnil, it should work fine. But if Quietzone has the AV that came along with newer Returnil, then that might be an issue. Over the years, I used Shadow defender and both Time freeze programs along Sandboxie, and never experienced conflicts between SBIE and this kind of programs.

    Bo
     
  7. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1,181
    bo over the years I have used them all too. quietzone has no av included. but does require a reboot to restore system to original. their official forum is right here at wilders. this is their new generation program quietzone.
     
  8. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Then I am pretty sure there wont be any conflict between Sandboxie and Quietzone. Sandboxie gets along extremely well with this type of programs. If what you like to do is get Quietzone running and then run applications sandboxed, save a few files to the real system out of SBIE and Quietzone, and at the end reboot to get rid of all changes. That should work out fine.

    I don't use my LV program for security, so I don't use it as I described above or very often, but you can use it along SBIE for security if you want to. Whenever I am in Shadow mode or when I was in Freeze mode, whatever I want to do with SBIE, I can do. No slowdowns, freezes or anything to complain about.

    Bo
     
  9. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1,181
    bo

    if sanboxie works inside of quietzone that would be a super line of defense. I downloaded that beta and am going to try it out inside quietzone.
     
  10. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1,181
    will not install inside quietzone:


    SBIE9234 Service startup error level 9153 status=C0000022 error=-1073741790

    SBIE9234 Service startup error level 9153 status=C0000022 error=-1073741790

    SBIE9234 Service startup error level 9153 status=C0000022 error=-1073741790

    SBIE9234 Service startup error level 9153 status=C0000022 error=-1073741790

    SBIE9234 Service startup error level 9153 status=C0000022 error=-1073741790

    SBIE9234 Service startup error level 9153 status=C0000022 error=-1073741790

    SBIE9234 Service startup error level 9153 status=C0000022 error=-1073741790

    SBIE9234 Service startup error level 9153 status=C0000022 error=-1073741790

    SBIE9234 Service startup error level 9153 status=C0000022 error=-1073741790

    SBIE9234 Service startup error level 9153 status=C0000022 error=-1073741790

    SBIE9234 Service startup error level 9153 status=C0000022 error=-1073741790

    SBIE9234 Service startup error level 9153 status=C0000022 error=-1073741790

    SBIE9234 Service startup error level 9153 status=C0000022 error=-1073741790

    SBIE2331 Service start failed: [22 / 5] Access is denied
     
  11. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1,181
    looks like I would have to install it with quietzone not active
    quitezone is a sandbox in its own
     
  12. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    If you are going to use Sandboxie everyday, then its certainly better to install it in your system. And then run programs under SBIE. But is strange that you couldn't install SBIE in Quietzone mode. Perhaps QZ blocks installation of services when its protection is on. Sandboxie requires the installation of a driver and service. And the message you got is that the service cant start. Thats usually due to another security program interfering with SBIE.

    If you are using an AV or other security programs, perhaps try again in QZ after disabling them temporarily while you run the SBIE installer.

    Note: If I was not using SBIE and wanted to test it installing it in Shadow mode or Freeze mode, I know I could. I have in the past ran Sandboxie installers over the top in Shadow mode, test the new version for a little while, reboot, and then run the installer outside Shadow mode. So, running the SBIE installer in QZ mode should work OK as long as QZ doesn't block the installation of drivers and Services, or you don't have another security program blocking or interfering with the SBIE installation as you run the SBIE installer.

    Bo
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2016
  13. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Something else, boredog. If you get that error when installing Sandboxie out of QZ, report the SBIE message you are getting at the SBIE forum and mention in the post the W10 build you are using. This number at the end of the SBIE message (1073741790) and knowing the W10 version you are using will help SBIE developers figure things out.

    Bo
     
  14. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,309
    Location:
    England
    Posts removed. Lets keep things on topic and stop snapping at each other
     
  15. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1,181
    Bo I get that kind of error many times with other security software. I think you are right about it stopping the load of a driver. I always thought they would allow it because everything is gone on reboot but am guessing if it is a low lever driver that could start before quietzone they don't allow it. just a guess. I know if I install sandboxie before enabling quietzone it would install just fine. done that with other software just to see. the only two programs that can interfere with the install is appguard and WAR but I always turn them off before an install or update.
     
  16. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Then, my advice would be for you to install Sandboxie in your host (which is really the way it should be if you are going to use SBIE on a regular basis), and then run your browser and other programs under SBIE. Afterward, you can test and see if programs run fine under Sandboxie in and out of QZ protected mode on.

    You are in W10, I suggest you keep an eye on whatever the latest Sandboxie beta thread is, often there are updates in them that fix issues that come up sometimes when W10 gets updated.

    Bo