MP3 to WAV = Better Fidelity?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by pvsurfer, Feb 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pvsurfer

pvsurfer Registered Member

I realize that mp3 files are compressed and therefore the music has lost some fidelity in the process. Well, since the music I download are mp3 files, would I regain close to the music's original fidelity if I convert the mp3 to wav before burning to (data) CDs? ...or was that fidelity lost forever once the music was compressed to mp3?

2. Mem

Mem Registered Member

Re: MP3 to WAV = Beter Fidelity?

MP3 is a lossy format - the compression makes the data gone for good.

3. pvsurfer

Thanks mem, I was afraid of that. Oh well, at least now I know not to waste my time converting my mp3's.

Btw, since I'm a noob at doing this, are there any precautions (or special burning software) in order to burn mp3's to Data CDs - so that they will be playable in my car's CD player?

4. lodore

lodore Registered Member

any burning software should be able to make those mp3 tracks in to a cd.
    Nero,ashampoo,roxio etc etc
    lodore

5. lucas1985

lucas1985 Retired Moderator

Burn at slower speeds (4x/8x)
    If you like to have bit-indentical files to the original CD-DA, try lossless codecs :)
    Lossless Audio Blog

6. InfinityAz

InfinityAz Registered Member

pvsurfer,

Just a recommendation based on much experimentation.

When ripping/encoding tracks to MP3, use variable bit rate (VBR) instead of constant bit rate (CBR) and rip to at least 192kbs. If you do both of these, most people cannot tell the difference between the ripped track and the original.

7. pvsurfer

I'm learning quite a bit here, so thanks to all... Btw, of the following two Music burn options that Ashampoo Burning Studio offers...

- Create an Audio CD
    - Create an MP3 CD/DVD

Which option is the one to use to burn mp3 files from my hard disk to data CDs (and will play on my car's CD-player)?

8. FastGame