Mozilla to enable Click to Play for all Firefox plugins by default, except the latest

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Jan 29, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
    http://thenextweb.com/apps/2013/01/...s-by-default-except-the-latest-flash-version/
     
  2. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    Very interesting, thanks for the article post.
     
  3. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Sounds decent. Although I would block Flash. When you open two Youtube tabs, you don't want them playing at the same time, so a Firefox extension like Flashblock is still quite useful here.
    Mrk
     
  4. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  5. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    Flash should be included, screw advertisers. Their move to near full screen, auto-playing film-like ads are the biggest reason a lot of people started using ad-blocking software. Granted that won't change ads forced on you before a video clip, but it will auto-block all those damned pop-up ads that cover many generic websites or those that like to sit down in the corners of pages and many times don't have a close or even a pause button. Not to mention blocking that crap leaves one less avenue for malware to take.
     
  6. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    881
    Location:
    Triassic
    Three questions about plugins in FF, R20 ...
    1. In about:config would you recommended toggling the click to play from the default setting ? Default for click and play is what... it is still auto on or is it now off?

    2. Plugins that I do not want (Java Toolkit, Skype clicktocall, Silverlight), how do I delete them? No delete button.

    3. Google Updater is a plugin that auto installed Feb 2013, and it is out of date. I checked for an update and it shows as an unknown plugin. If I disable it, what will not work and why doesn't Google know what Google Updater is?
     
  7. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i would agree here.
    i think it's pretty useless if it does not block Flash.

    Chrome blocks Flash with its "Click to Play" feature.

    no bid deal for me because NoScript already does that for me anyway.
     
  8. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    330
    Set "plugins.click_to_play" to "true" in "about:config". It will block all flash objects. It also offers whitelist etc...
     
  9. niki

    niki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    I can only answer your #2 question.

    about:config - in search box type: plugin.expose_full_path and when found toggle to true

    about:plugins - the list will show you the path where these plugins are located and you can delete them there with Firefox closed.

    After done, for security reasons toggle plugin.expose_full_path back to false.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.