Mozilla readies Firefox 1.0 release

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Nov 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
    ZDNet
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    sounds good :D ;)
     
  3. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Oh yeah! :cool:
     
  4. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    Mine doesn't do that ;)
     
  6. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    I'm waitin' for them to release it....
     
  7. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    Well, from the thread I have started, it's not just me. I noticed this at 1RC and has progressed with 2RC.
     
  8. hayc59

    hayc59 Guest

  9. Lurkerella

    Lurkerella Guest

    Well, this is exciting!!

    I am still unsure if I should download OVER the old one? Or try to find my profiles and save them? This is always a problem for me, what should I save or not? My bookmarks are important to my research, what do you say?

    Thank you in advance!
     
  10. Devinco

    Devinco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,524
    Lurkerella,

    I would consider this a major update so I would do a complete uninstall (delete the program folder too).
    Before you do though, here is the easiest way to backup.
    Then you can install and restore just the bookmarks (maybe history and passwords).
     
  11. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    There have been changes to the installer from the preview release to the final that allows you now to install on top with no problems. I did not hear of anyone having problems with it testing the nightly builds. It worked fine here ;) ...

    HTH ;) ...
     
  12. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA

    Problem is the download manager. This problem occurs when too full. There should be some sort of control or automatic clearing before this problem occurs - like outpost's log clearing.

    http://img14.exs.cx/img14/4707/clearing.jpg
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2004
  13. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Cann enywon til mi if theer is anne ezzy tu instahl spill chekka 4 vershion 1*>?

    Fanks, Pilli. :)
     
  14. dog

    dog Guest

    LOL ;)

    iH Pilli, ;)

    Uoy cuold try spellbuond ---> http://www.exchangecode.com/spellbound/

    I've neevr treid it, but I thnik Puff (Kent) hsa ... he cuold fell yuo in on it ... if yuo mp him. ;)

    god err dog :ninja: *puppy* :ninja:
     
  15. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    I just uninstalled RC2 and installed the new version in the same directory. Worked like a charm. :)
    Bookmarks, settings, passwords and all the rest was still there as before.
     
  16. meneer

    meneer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Posts:
    1,132
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I just installed over an existing older version. And now I enjoy seeing the fox run :)
     
  17. steverio

    steverio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    I installed 1.0 over top of RC2 and went smooth. Ready for the default browser position again.
     
  18. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Installed version 1.0 over 0.93, no probs. Only cookie culler not working yet.
     
  19. chew

    chew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    515
    Location:
    GeordieLand.
    So far so good.

    No problem whatsoever.

    Love it.

    :)
     
  20. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Pilli

    You was meant to have posted that on the 5th, to set the bonfire alight. :)
    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  21. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Installed it early in the morning and all went well. Just deleted the firefox program file folder and then installed couldn't have worked slicker ;)

    bigc
     
  22. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
    Now that it has the Firefox 1.0 milestone under its belt, the Mozilla Foundation has identified three areas for future growth and development: Cell phone and small device browsing, desktop search integration, and OEM (original equipment manufacturer) distribution.

    ZDNet
     
  23. seakiwi

    seakiwi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Posts:
    47
    I installed over the top of v.8 after disabling my extensions, as the installation instructions suggested. So far it is working fine, except for an error I get when I start Firefox (see attached screenshot). Anyone tell me what this might mean? It doesn't seem to be affecting anything - at least not so far.

    Also, does anyone know if the Mozilla Googlebar is supposed to work with this version? I found what I thought was a v1.0 compatible one, which installed OK, except it installed TWO.

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  24. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    seakiwi, you should have uninstalled your old version of firefox before installing the new one.
    For maximum software stability with firefox, I strongly recommend uninstalling older versions first before installing newer versions.
     
  25. seakiwi

    seakiwi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Posts:
    47

    With respect, if that is the case why do the installation instructions specifically state that you should not have to uninstall previous versions, providing you disable all extensions before installing? I'm not doubting the wisdom of your suggestion at all - I almost did exactly that, but when I saw that the official installation instructions specifically stated it shouldn't be necessary, I gave them the benefit of the doubt. That'll teach me ;)

    OK, so if I uninstall completely now, how do I preserve my settings/bookmarks etc?

    Thanks for your help ...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.