Mozilla blocks Flash by default on Firefox browser

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by hawki, Jul 14, 2015.

  1. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,952
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
  2. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,952
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
  3. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,952
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
  4. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,010
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Looks like Flash is becoming the new Java. I'm not really worried though, normally speaking, anti-exploit, anti-exe and in some cases even ad-blockers will protect you.
     
  5. focus

    focus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    USA
    I recently built a new W7x64 system and did not install Flash, haven't had any problems viewing content except for a few unimportant sites.
     
  6. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,043
    Since a lot of sites are moving to HTML5, I was considering to disable it in Chrome also. But for now click to play is enough for me.
     
  7. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,764
    Location:
    Outer space
    Btw, as far as I can see it is not Flash itself they blocked, but v18.0.0.203 and lower, which at the time meant all versions of Flash. But .209 has been released today with fixes for the 2 new zero-days from Hacking Team.
     
  8. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,278
    Yes, that´s my understanding also. Since I installed 209 I haven´t received any warnings.
     
Loading...