Moving to a SSD soon - need a backup

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Hungry Man, Jul 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Not sure about the best way to do this. I have Grub, which loads my Ubuntu 12.04 and my Windows 8. I want the easiest way to get things exactly how they are on the new 128GB drive - less than 128GB is used right now on my drive.

    I have a terabyte external. Looking for free solutions only.
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Hungry Man,

    Is Grub installed into the MBR? I assume so.

    There has been a lot of discussion about Grub in the MBR rather than Grub in the partition boot sector. Grub when installed with Ubuntu occupies the first 103 sectors of the HD. LBA-0 to LBA-102. I think imaging apps (except the TeraByte apps) can only restore the first 63 sectors so if you have a problem with the free apps, get back to us.

    Edit... While we're at it, can you post a screenshot of Disk Management. That will be a big help in advising you.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2012
  3. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    It's the default Grub installation. I didn't do anything fancy so I guess it's fair to assume that (I don't know.)

    I'll post a screeny a little later tonight or tomorrow.
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I've helped with about 10 migrations from HD to SSD and there are lots of traps.
     
  5. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Perhaps I should just reinstall entirely. Such a pain but at least I can back up what's important.
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I wouldn't and my new SSD is arriving next week. I have about 30 OS on my current HD but I won't be copying all to the SSD.

    You just need to be disciplined when copying the partitions.
     
  7. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    The decision was made for me - drive crapped out last night. Oh well.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.