Moving image between notebooks

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by fourfone, Aug 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fourfone

    fourfone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    MI
    I have two, similar notebooks, both Dell C610s (1.0MHz vs. 1.2MHz), but I am getting rid of one and want to move the exact setup on one to the other. I have already tried restoring my image on the new machine and it works, BUT, the old notebook has a 20GB drive and the new one has a 30GB drive. So I am left with an unallocated ~10GB, which I don't want!

    If this was a desktop, I could use Disk Clone with both drives on one box, but it's not, soooooo . . . what are my options . . .
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Fourfone,

    Isn't there a setting during the restore process where you can make the "Free space after" equal zero? ie no more unallocated space.
     
  3. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, fourfone

    To reclaim the space:- #6

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  4. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    Given the migration has happped - If it works don't change it.

    why not just resize the partition

    Drive image or Acronis Disk manager can do this
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello fourfone,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please note that Acronis True Image 8.0 allows you to resize the partitions during the image restoration process. Please read more in chapter 5 of Acronis True Image 8.0 User's Guide.

    You can also use a special partition management software such as Acronis Disk Director Suite 9.0 in order to add the unallocated space to any of your partitions or change your current partition layout.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Page 32.

    The easiest approach would be to restore the image again.
     
  7. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello fourfone,

    If the orginal hard drive contained more than one partition then to restore an image of a multi-partitioned drive to a different drive the image must contain the Master Boot Record (MBR) of the source drive. This ensures the new drive is bootable. To achieve this the whole drive needs to be selected by ticking the checkbox next to the drive number, both when creating the image and again when restoring it to the new drive. However, when this is done you are not given the option to resize the partitions to fill the larger drive. The answer is to carry out another restore of the same image but this time choose to restore each partition separately rather than ticking the whole disk checkbox. You will then be able resize the partition(s) to fill the available space by moving the partion boundaries accordingly.

    If the original source drive consisted of only one partition then selecting the single partition will automatically also tick the drive checkbox. However, when you then restore the image to the new drive you will be able to just select the the single partition without it also selecting the drive checkbox. In this case you will be given the option to resize the partition to fill the available space.

    Regards
     
  8. fourfone

    fourfone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    MI
    Thanks, This is the info I was looking for. So if I select just the image partition, not the drive letter, I will see the option for resizing (which I did not see when I restored the image originally.) The manual (on page 32) is not clear as to under what conditions you can resize the partition (ie. what box to check/uncheck.)
     
  9. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi fourfone,

    Yes, that's correct (at least that was the case the last time I tried it :)).

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.