Mouse not working with Build 826

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Ed Y, Apr 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ed Y

    Ed Y Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    86
    I just downloaded TI 8.0 Build 826. Did an update over Build 800. Created a Bootable Rescue CD. Booted from the Rescue CD like always. It did boot up fine but no MOUSE. I could move the cursor between the 4 options on the main screen but couldn't do anything else. No way to shutdown TI, even the power down button on the tower wouldn't work. Had to turn off power on the surge protector. Created another Rescue CD using TI 8.0 build 826 with same results.

    I then inserted the Rescue CD for build 800, booted, mouse works fine.

    This is a bummer. Win XP Home SP2 on a Dell 4300. Mouse is USB 1.0 plugged right into the USB port on the tower like it has been for 3 1/2 years.

    This is first mouse problem since I purchased the software last fall.

    Am I the only one with this problemo_Oo_O?
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2005
  2. Ed Y

    Ed Y Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    86
    Bumpo_Oo_Oo_Oo_O??
     
  3. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    See this pevious thread here and email support with the information requested by Ilya
     
  4. Ed Y

    Ed Y Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    86
    Yeah, I saw that. Thing that confuses me is why it's been working since last October and all of a sudden it doesn't work with 8.0 build 826.

    I'm hoping Ilya will check into this thread before I send info, etc.
     
  5. simon_warner

    simon_warner Guest

    I had problems today booting the rescue disk of build 826. By sending the bootlog to support they could tell me it had to do with an USB device. I removed the wireless USB mouse I bought a few weeks ago and everything worked fine again. For me it is not a real problem because restoring is not my hobby and only occurs during emergencies. Because I work on a laptop I can use the touchpad as well in that emergency situation.
     
  6. ratcheer

    ratcheer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Alabama, USA
    I use a wireless USB mouse and I didn't have any trouble with the new build.

    o_O

    Tim
     
  7. Pegasus5

    Pegasus5 Guest

    Like Tim, I do not have a wireless mouse problem, neither the predesessing builds nor 826.

    Hank
     
  8. Ed Y

    Ed Y Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    86
    Yeah, but the mouse I have and have been using since last October is NOT wireless. It's a Logitech optical mouse with USB cable.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  10. Ed Y

    Ed Y Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    86
    email with sysinfo.txt is on the way to support.
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Ed,

    Thank you for taking time to contact Acronis Support Team. In case you do not receive any response within 48 hours please let me know your Acronis request # which was sent to you in autoreply. I will find out the reason for the delay.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  12. Ed Y

    Ed Y Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    86
    Received an email yesterday from Acronis support with an .iso file attached. Used it to create a CD, booted from it and I now have mouse support from the Bootable Rescue CD.

    Problem solved. I did email support back just to ask what the problem was though.
     
  13. Defenestration

    Defenestration Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    1,086
    Any chance a new build can be released so we can all benefit from this (and any other) fix ?
     
  14. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Defenestration,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    New build of Acronis True Image will be released soon. Every new release contains improved drivers for most devices (especially such essential as mouse) and it should allow you to work with wider range of mice.

    However, it would be better that you send a letter with the descirption of particular your problem and submit the data requested in in this thread. That will allow us to implement the support of your model of mouse.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  15. nolonemo

    nolonemo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Don't need a mouse, anyway

    Note that if you lose the mouse, you can do a restore by navigating with the tab and arrow keys. Spacebar checks and unchecks boxes, and enter executes like a mouse click. It's a pain compared to using the mouse, but you should be able to do everything to get back up and running.
     
  16. veedar

    veedar Guest

    Hi I have a Dell laptop and booted into the rescue cd but the touchpad does not operate. I'm trying to work it using the keyboard but i am stuck inthe "Add comments to the image archive" part. How do I get past that?
     
  17. veedar

    veedar Guest

    ...and the answer is ALT N
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.