More brains needed

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by Not2Dum57, Jul 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Not2Dum57

Not2Dum57 Registered Member

I'm not a newbie. I know quite a bit about computers, software, security, and so forth. But, I only have one brain, I don't know everything, and I have a problem that I have been unable to resolve using conventional means. Before I wipe my system (for the 5th? time) I thought it might be worthwhile to post here and either gain new knowledge or at least obtain some additional thoughts from others that, perhaps, I failed to consider, or forgot, or just plain didn't think of. After all, two brains are better than one, and more brains can't hurt.

Simply stated, I was seriously hacked, have reason to believe that I still am, and I have not been able to resolve the 'problem'. I've been through the mill, including paying for assistance, without tangible results. My business was, essentially, destroyed. I'm broke and currently unemployed. So, some options are no longer available, including keeping my AV subscription current. Not that it helped in the first place. And, in fact I am not so certain that it has not actually become part of the problem. :( The conclusion from the paid support (twice) was that I should contact the FBI. I did but, of course, it was/is a total waste of time and effort.

Basically, my own system (XP pro) and its components are being used, or appear to be used, against me (rcbdyctl, conf, nwmb, rasdial, msmsgs, and more) at will. Address one issue, for example, disable calls for remote assist and something else is used. Eventually, discover remote assist is no longer disabled. Or the firewall has been disabled. Or messenger has been reenabled, or the modem was used, or wireless enabled/configured, etcetera. Overall, running in circles. Track one thing, shifts to another. In short, can't trust anything. Including Safe Mode no networking.