Monitor turns off if a light switch is turned on/off

Discussion in 'hardware' started by ReverseGear, May 12, 2015.

1. ReverseGear

ReverseGear Guest

I have a dell s2240l monitor connected to GTX 650 Ti BOOST gfx via hdmi cable . Whenever anyone in my home turns on a switch my monitor display goes off for a second . What exactly could be causing this ?

2. twl845

twl845 Registered Member

I'm not an electrician, but it sounds like when the light switch goes on, it creates a minute momentary drain on your electrical system which is just enough to trip your monitor. If your monitor has an energy saver of some kind turned on, I would try turning it off to see if it helps.

3. ReverseGear

ReverseGear Guest

There is an energy saver function but it is turned off . Any other suggestion ?

4. Bill_Bright

Bill_Bright Registered Member

It sounds like you need to have your home wiring checked by a qualified electrician.

You might also plug your monitor into a different outlet - preferably on a different circuit and see what happens.

Also, every home and computer user should have access to a AC Outlet Tester to ensure your outlet is properly wired and grounded. I recommend one with a GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupt) indicator as it can be used to test bathroom and kitchen outlets too. These testers can be found for your type and voltage outlet, foreign or domestic, at most home improvement stores, or even the electrical department at Walmart. And if a fault is shown, have it fixed by a qualified electrician.

5. ReverseGear

ReverseGear Guest

The site isn't opening . What do you mean by plug my monitor in a different outlet - like in someone else's pc ?

Also maybe a stupid question but can this be because my PSU isnt enough to take the load of my gfx ?

6. Bill_Bright

Bill_Bright Registered Member