MojoPac - Best PC Virtualization yet?

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Genady Prishnikov, Dec 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Genady Prishnikov

    Genady Prishnikov Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    350
    Could this be what a lot of us have been looking for?
    We've looked at Altris and some others but this indeed looks different.................hmmmmmm.......

    http://static1.giga.de/media/news/1162571986news.jpg

    MojoPac: Making Your Personal PC Portable
    When Is a Windows PC Not Really a Windows PC?
    Joseph Moran
    http://cws.internet.com/article/3447-.htm
    Also.....PC World has an article this month:
    http://www.pcworld.com/printable/article/id,127626/printable.html

    MojoPac Home:
    http://www.mojopac.com
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 12, 2006
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    very interesting.
    lodore
     
  3. [suave]

    [suave] Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Posts:
    218
    Wow, this is awesome! :D

    I'm going to test this out ASAP. Looks real cool!

    Nice find :thumb:
     
  4. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I am actually writing this from Mojopac installation :thumb:

    I downloaded it and installed it as the instructions said. Everything went just fine. My 1GB USB stick is a bit slow though.
    I like that Mojopac tells me that my firewall in the host has poped up (to allow the mojopac connection to the net)
    One can not alt tab to the host (my normal windows desktop) but there is a bar on the top of screen and it is easy to move back and fourth.

    Really handy tool I must say. The trial is quite generous too, 44 days or 200 boots into Mojopac. I sure will play with this one for a while. Take it to different computers and see how it behaves.
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    ~removed quote of post that's directly above....Bubba~

    you still need antivirus software on mojopack or not?
    i need it doesnt spread to the host system but if you gonna use it safelty it needs an av installed so no passwords can be nicked etc.
    lodore
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 12, 2006
  6. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I guess you would need a antivirus. Because if you run a virus in Mojopac environment it will do its dity deeds there, but it wil not infect the host. Host-based security software may not be able to scan the MojoPac environment.
    I read in the FAQ that since Mojopac is such new software they have not tested it with all the brands of AV´s. I see though in their, for now, rather small compability list that these security software are compatible with Mojopac:
    • Clam AntiVirus 0.88.4
    • ewido anti-spyware 4.0
    • Anonymizer
    • Spybot - Search and Destroy 1.4
    • Ad-Aware Personal SE 1.06

    As I understand it this doesnt mean that other apps does not work. But I guess that list will grow when users report in more applications.

    It seems you don't need a firewall at least. I installed K-meleon browser and Comodo firewall asked for K-meleon permission. Same happened the first time I used Internet Explorer.

    *edit* I just noticed that Prevx1 (in my host) does catch if a unknown software tries to run inside Mojopac and asks for confirmation.:thumb:
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2006
  7. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i know i'm the only person who listens to gibson, but i think he did a whole podcast about it. i think he's even taking the credit for it's success too because he talked about it lol. i'm not joking :eek:
     
  8. Genady Prishnikov

    Genady Prishnikov Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    350
    I just finished using mine on my laptop. I had installed Mojopac on the desktop. Very interesting! So far, it does exactly what it claims to do. Easy, too!
     
  9. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,038
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yeah I saw this a while ago, I have to say that it´s interesting, but at the moment I don´t really need it. But might come in handy some time, I will check it out. ;)
     
  10. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Yeah I have this, I also heard about it on a Gibson rant, got it awhile ago before the price rocketed.
     
  11. Genady Prishnikov

    Genady Prishnikov Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    350
    Anybody else been messing with this? I find it much easier than the Altris program we were all looking at a couple of weeks ago.
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    I decided to give it a whirl. It was a quick ride.

    1. Register - easy
    2. Download and install easy
    3. Hit start button and crash during login - easy
    4. Try same thing again with same result - easy
    5 Get rid of it - Also easy.
     
  13. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    I think that MojoPac markets the mobile computer users. The concept is that you store any data and software on a fast USB drive and take it with you like a laptop. All you need is a host computer to be able to boot MojoPac.

    Think of it as the poor man's notebook. :D
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2006
  14. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    True, but it installs deep into the hosts kernel. My machine took exception t o that.
     
  15. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Great idea but just no good here.

    No realtime security running on C drive.

    Installed on a 2gig flash and after login a bsod occurred.

    On reboot chkdsk ran over the mojo install and I finally got it up and running.

    It imported all my FF data but I couldn't find it and it was taking upto 10 secs just open the readme.txt on desktop.

    Ending up formatting the usb drive and might try it out a bit later if any improvements are made.
     
  16. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    OK maybe I was a bit hasty in my assumptions.

    As this app had me intrigued I gave it another shot.

    Seems to be doing as it should but is still a bit slow.

    Installed WMP10,Agent Ransack,FF 2,Sandboxie and a few other apps and they seem to be working ok except for any defraggers.

    A simple right click on the drive will defrag it from windows.

    Sandboxie will work if the top level storage folder is set to the usb drive from both the real system and the virtual mojo.

    Am posting this using Mojo with FF run through Sandboxie.
     
  17. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    This product seems pretty similar: Moka5.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.