Mobile security settings?

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by Javaddiction, Sep 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Javaddiction

Javaddiction Registered Member

I've decided to take the plunge and give LnS a shot. After scouring numerous posts from several forums, and pounding my head into my computer with that incessant "ding" and countless dropped/blocked connections, I think I'm finally at a stand-still...

Some quick background information first: I'm a student a college and with the commute to campus everyday, my laptop pretty much goes wherever I go. With it, I connect to a private wireless network at school as well as one at home. The school network uses WEP encryption using PEAP authentication, while my home network uses WPA-PSK encryption/authentication. Until recently, I swore by Norton SystemWorks and Internet Security. Then I learned about LnS (coupled with NOD32 ) and haven't looked back (I still keep SystemWorks around for regular system maintainence though). LnS version 2.05 is installed.

My problems currently have (so far) two parts:
    1) My WiFi connection keeps dropping and reconnecting every few minutes.
    2) I have two completely separate networks which I regularly need to use.
    3) Are there different recommended settings for mobile users as opposed to desktop machines?
    These problems didn't really seem to surface with NIS, so I know they shouldn't be ISP related, but somehow firewall-specific.

Initially after installing Look'n'Stop I was using the Enhanced Rule's set with Patrice's Configuring Look'n'Stop with Routers guide.
    This seemed to work ok, but the connection was dropping so often in both environments (a separate IGMP rule was created for each network) that it was difficult to do work. If i remember right, this was around the time i was noticing quite a few "Type Ethernet: 888E" and "Type Ethernet: 0000" messages in my logs.