MITM protection IS available !

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by CloneRanger, Jan 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Or so it seems ? Nice to see qkweb back on the www & still contributing after all these years ;) Some of you will remember his excellent previous www [noparse]http://www.firewallleaktester.com[/noparse] - https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=310178

    *

    To be used in conjunction with OpenDNS

    *

    Anybody using BOTH OpenDNS & DNSCrypt ? If so, what do you think of it ?
     
  2. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Hi CloneRanger,

    I'm not so sure whether it is worthwile to post the link to gkweb's old site -http://www.firewallleaktester.com/ anymore. The content Guillaume posted there once, isn't available there anymore; and I doubt whether it is his site at all anymore.

    Back to topic ;)
     
  3. Jeroen1000

    Jeroen1000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    162
    Interesting. I'm going to check it out. My list to check out things is just getting longer and longer. :D
     
  4. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    I'm not seeing the point of this thread. You know people are using DNSCrypt and have been for many months, we have numerous threads on it already.
     
  5. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,985
    Location:
    Canada
    Or just set up a dedicated, plug-in-free, Flash-free, Java-free browser, restricted via firewall to the bank's ip addresses only. DNS is eliminated.
     
  6. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I hope my memory ain't that old, but I believe that in order to eliminate the DNS issue, you'd have to map whatever domain name to its IP address/ranges. The HOSTS file would be the solution, should it support ranges. :D
     
  7. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,985
    Location:
    Canada
    For your solution, probably, but mine uses straight IP address ranges, so no DNS involved. The firewall logs prove this :) I use the domain name entries only to allow javascript/images for the bank's site.
     
  8. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. rpk2006
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    269
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.