Migrating to SSD

Discussion in 'Paragon Partition Manager Product Line' started by kaer, Nov 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kaer

    kaer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Newbie - tried search, but did not find within time of patience- Sorry. ;)

    Migrating my HDD to SSD win7 home 64bit. Can I accomplish this with PPM ver. 10 pro (or Backup ver. 10 pro) or do I need to upgrade or buy "Migrate Os to SSD" ??

    Thanks.
     
  2. Paragon_Matt

    Paragon_Matt Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Posts:
    399
    Please elaborate on what you are attempting to accomplish.
     
  3. reddwarfer

    reddwarfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I think kaer is asking about PPM or Backup Pro Vers 10'S
    ability to clone/Image a HDD to SSD of Win 7 64 bit
    (boot drive I suppose)

    More specifically I guess about its capability to align sectors correctly
    with the SSD's would be my guess
    (seems here is were there is a big pit fall for the not so well versed on imaging HHD's or cloning partitions)

    I dont know for sureo_Oo_O
    but would guess not for Version 10,
    so its seems Upgrade would be the go
    for version 12 pro best to check the details on the website
    but seem its does what you want to do

    Hopefully someone can offer a more definitive answer then me...

    There is a heap of info on the net about this
    Google is your friend :)
    (I'd post some but not sure of rules on links now on wilders)

    of little help really, but hope it does anyway

    Cheers :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2012
  4. Paragon_Matt

    Paragon_Matt Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Posts:
    399
    The problem with this red is that neither of those programs have support to migrate an OS to an SSD properly.
     
  5. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    drive copy does a good job - with a lot of nice automation
     
  6. reddwarfer

    reddwarfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks Matt :)
    I "think" thats the answer the op probably needed
    He does need to use something Else
    (and probably has by now)
    to achieve what I think was the objective,
    to image his HDD to an SSD as a boot drive

    So something like "Drive copy" (like starfish said) ...from Paragon range depending on needs or other suitable program capable of HDD SSD migration

    Since there is no reply I'll still post this for the question asked as it may help others
    Cheers :)

    PS generally Speaking for questions asked.. and not so specific to this one but
    it would be nice if you do post an answer to what you found that resolved the issue for your specific problem...As it may save others from much frustration & tears...and you a written record if it happens again to you
    (which tends to happen right when you wont recall how you fixed it the first time)

    Thought Id ad that as there so many unresolved questions on forums
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.