Microsoft Updates Firefox?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by AKAJohnDoe, Feb 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  2. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    I noticed that add-on too. However, I didn't really pay any special attention since .NET is always installed on my system anyway. The behavior is a bit alarming, though, since it was forcefully installed without an option of uninstalling it.
     
  3. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Someone finally posts something worth worrying about. This is a new one on me, and unless people are missing a tibit of important information, MS has some explaining to do.
     
  4. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
  5. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,917
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  6. TechOutsider

    TechOutsider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    549
    What does it even do?
     
  7. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
    It may not be compatible with FF 3.1b2. A lot of extensions and add-ons are not compatible. I have Auto updates on and am fully patched in high priority but don't see any extensions for .net under Tools>Add-ons. Searching the Registry for {20a82645-c095-46ed-80e3-08825760534b} in the Mozilla area came up empty. I am clean of this for now.
     
  8. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,042
    I have read through this thread and the links and apart from the possibly underhand way of installing (even that is not clear cut http://channel9.msdn.com/forums/Coffeehouse/421171-NET-Framework-Assistant/) I still have not seen any serious issues mentioned regarding security.

    Is there any security issue with this add-on or is everyone just upset because MS is involved?
     
  9. noone_particular

    noone_particular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3,798
    On which versions of Windows does MS add this extension to FireFox?
     
  10. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,917
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    From reading the mozillaZine Forum, it looks like Win XP only, although one poster said Vista and another poster contradicted that point. Does not seem to be a security issue at this point but it would be prudent to stay on yellow alert.
     
  11. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    It did it on my Vista machine.
     
  12. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,917
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    funkydude, thanks for confirming that!
     
  13. chrisretusn

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,322
    Location:
    Philippines
    Easiest way to get rid of it is move everything in C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v3.5\Windows Presentation Foundation\DotNetAssistantExtension in to a zip file with Firefox shutdown of course.

    You could also delete, but moving to a zip allow for restore if needed.

    After starting Fx it will be gone. enter about:config in the adress bar and filter for general.useragent.extra.microsoftdotnet, then right click and select reset restart Fx and the added user agent string will be gone.
     
  14. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello
    chrisreusn, your method seems to be the simplest - without registry hacking. I'm gonna write an article about this and credit you ...
    Mrk
     
  15. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
  16. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    Not sure why but for me KB951847 is listed as an optional update and as I have no idea what Net Framework does I have never installed it on any of my machines. Do those of you who have is "update" have Net Framework installed ?
     
  17. Hiker

    Hiker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Posts:
    268
    I think everyone has atleast Net Framework 2 which is what I have. As far as I know some software won't run without it. Look in add/remove

    Any advantages to 3.5?
     
  18. chrisretusn

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,322
    Location:
    Philippines
    Thanks Mrkvonic, but that method is not 100% my idea. That belongs to Grail Knight over at DSLReports.com.

    BTW, that is a great article and thanks for maintaining your outstanding a very informative web site. I've had your site bookmarked from sometime now and have referred many friends to your site. Your site has help win over a few converts to linux. :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2009
  19. chrisretusn

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,322
    Location:
    Philippines
    If you don't have any software installed that needs .NET Framework then you don't need it installed. Of the software I have installed only .NET Framework 2.0 is required. I just like to keep up to date.

    This Fx extention only gets installed with .NET Framework 3.5 SP1, it does not get installed with any lower version.
     
  20. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    No - No Net Framework needed nor installed. Every now and then I find a program that needs Net Framework and I just use an alternate.
     
  21. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,917
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  22. against

    against Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    After installing this update i could not start Firefox using my usual sandboxie shortcut. Sandboxie attempted to launch the "default_browser", however it seems to silently fail and the sandbox falls back to being inactive.

    Was able to temporarily "fix" this by disabling both MS DRM plugins that had been inserted in to firefox add-ons.

    I'm sure the previous resolutions posted here would also fix this.

    Just a heads up to SandBoxie+Firefox users.
     
  23. Hiker

    Hiker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Posts:
    268
    OK I have NF 2 installed so I guess I have software that called for it. So far nothing has asked me to upgrade to 3.5.
     
  24. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    I have Windows Update set for Prompt to Download and Prompt to Install on all of my PC's. Several days ago I got the prompt to download the very large Net Framework 3.5 on one of my PC's. I selected to download the update and a few seconds later the Windows Update tray icon disappeared. I never got a prompt to install the update. After reading this Thread, I checked both the Add/Remove Programs and the Firefox Addons and there was no trace of Net Framework 3.5. Tomorrow morning I plan to go to Windows Update (on all of my PC's) and block this update. My other two PC's never prompted me about the Net Framework 3.5 update. Strange!
     
  25. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,124
    did you uninstall this microsoft component?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.