Microsoft updates failing

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by twl845, Jul 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Hi, In 2007 I bought my Grandson a Dell desktop computer with Vista installed. For a year, he got his Microsoft updates on a regular basis with no problems. Then, in 2008 the updates began to fail. I have learned that to date 80 updates in all have failed to install. I took a look and sure enough the progress bar preparing to install goes and goes but nothing happens. Last night I told him to let it alone and see if the updates eventually install, and he tells me that after a few hours he gave up.

    Does anyone know what the problem could be and how I can get it going. In the control panel under the security folder, it is indeed checked off to download updates automatically. However I can't even make it download updates manually. Thanks in advance. :p
     
  2. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2010
  3. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I sometimes get manual Defender updates which fail. Yet if I close the updater window & open it a bit later then check, the updates always eventually install. I don't know what's going on with that. o_O
     
  4. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,279
    Some alternative aprroaches:
    0. Before doing anything else, create backup images of system and data.
    1. Try to repair Windows, using a recovery disc (http://neosmart.net/blog/2008/windows-vista-recovery-disc-download/) or the Vista installation disc.
    2. If there is a system backup (image) available, created before the problem started, restore it.
    3. Restore the Dell factory image.
    4. Reinstall Windows.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2010
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,740
    Location:
    Texas
    I wouldn't reinstall Windows with this issue. The problem appears to be on the Microsoft server end.

    If the update fails, try to update manually. If you get an error, immediately hit update again and see if it updates.
     
  6. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the info. I'll check it out when I see my Grandson.
    It's just funny how the updates came OK until 2008, and suddenly failed every time after that. No error message appears. It acts like when a web page won't load.
     
  7. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for responding. We have tried to manually do the update from the Microsoft download updates page many times, but it just can't load like I said above, like a web page that just keeps trying to load but doesn't. As I mentioned, my Grandson tried since 2008. :p
     
  8. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
  9. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    MrBrian, Thanks for those repair solutions. Do you recommend one method over another? I thought I'd try the Microsoft method first. Would you? I will have to wait until I visit my Grandson to try to fix the problem. :)
     
  10. DasFox

    DasFox Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,825
    Windows upates can be a pain, in fact a friend had Vista go belly up on the last update, then I reinstalled the system, then when I went to update the sytem it gave me problems too.

    I personally don't bother with Windows updates for my HOME boxes and I've never updated since using Win98 and I've never had a problem.

    I just use the latest SP is all and for me it's just fine, you just need some experience, and some good security in place and you'll be fine. :)
     
  11. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    You're welcome :). I would try the Microsoft Fixit with Default mode first. Perhaps make a system restore point or a full system backup first.
     
  12. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Working on an XP PC now with a very similar problem and Dial-a-Fix seems to have sorted it.

    Create partitions/Format/reinstall love job and I installed MSE first before Windows updates and things seemed screwed up.

    Uninstalled MSE (and it's staying off), ran Dial-a-Fix and updates are working.

    What destroyed the partition structure in the first place I have no idea?
     
  13. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    besides all the other suggestions....i know it sounds maybe like something stupid but check the date and time of windows.. if the date and time are off they will also fail..i have seen this on customers computers many times.

    also check the ms download page and see if you can download the updates manually then install them after that
     
  14. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    Wow, someone here led me to believe MSE was perfect and that it had to be something wrong with system. It's good to know that you're in the minority with me. No more MSE for me

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1705317&postcount=14

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1706215&postcount=23

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1706443&postcount=24
     
  15. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    This was a brand new install of XP home which needed just about every update up to and including SP3.

    Everything activated and registered fine and I put MSE on first before any updates and it ran like a hairy goat.

    There were memory spikes all over the place and lockups with MSE being the main prob.

    Uninstalled MSE ran Dial-a-fix and everything seemed to settle down. Installed Avira after a billion gig of updates and still seems OK for a P4 3 gig HT 512 meg of ram.

    Well it seemed like a billion gig, reboot after reboot after reboot. LOL :D

    Dropped an image on it as I don't wanna go through all that again.

    Edit:
    I have used MSE on other PC's and didn't have the probs above?
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2010
  16. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i will not use mse again myself way to many issues with it for me.
     
  17. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    Me too. My wife has it on her laptop x64 with no problems that I'm aware of. She may have the symptoms I describe but I don't notice it because it's not monitored the way it is on my setup. I monitor it on my desktop and it displays the high/cpu mem usage.
     
  18. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Yep, I actually put MSE on a new Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit last Friday.

    That machine was a new I7 8gig of ddr3 with AVG Inet Security installed.

    It just seemed slow and clunky but after getting rid of AVG and installing MSE it was running like a nice machine of that calibre should run and no problems with updates.
     
  19. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.