Microsoft Ships Internet Explorer 8 Browser

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Mar 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,734
    Location:
    Texas
    Story
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,734
    Location:
    Texas
  3. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,632
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Oh Oh

    Another Browser rolls out to the public, only this time no portable version. Time for security vendors to ramp up some fencing for the exploits coming up in this one.

    I'll give it less then a month before patch time.
     
  4. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
  5. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
  6. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
  7. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    FWIW, IE8 actually performs better on Sunspider and V8 benchmarks on my laptop than Firefox 3.0.7 and Opera 9.64 do. Haven't tried the respective betas for Ff and Op, tho.
     
  8. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    hello,
    hopfully the 64bit version of the final doesnt crash on everywebsite=(

    I will image and test it later.
     
  9. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    I'd Like To Say.. Thank You! .. To - Crofttk ;)

    My thread was moved & closed :oops:
    So.. Could not say thank you to you from there.

    I Dunno - Ya Know! :doubt:
    When Vista SP1 Came Out...
    Thinking that it wouldn't come through Windows Update till April. All the fellas over here in the UK - Were downloading it from Microsoft.
    Obviously! Coz when you do it that way... The computer isn't checked for incompatibilities
    So some people got in a right royal mess :rolleyes:
    I just thought... :oops: " I'll wait! "
    However!
    The very next Morning -Turned on the computer...
    And there was Vista SP1 ... Come through Windows Update :D
     
  10. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Sorry Ronjor :oops:

    When I Posted My Thread...
    1/ I had absolutely No Idea that you had already started a thread on this subject.
    2/ I really wasn't sure where I was supposed to start a thread on a subject like that.

    I Know Now! ;)
     
  11. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    You're certainly welcome. My, so conscientious! As far I'm concerned, don't sweat the duplication. The Lone Ranger (uh, excuse me, that's RONJOR) gets us all at one time or another as he does his own conscientious bit to contain the "splatter" here at Wilder's, AND it's much appreciated.:cool:
     
  12. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Microsoft shouldn't clap like crazy just yet.

    I installed IE 8 Final, and now, I can't access Windows services, with administrative rights.

    Just go to Start Menu and type - service.msc - and execute it as Administrator. No window will ever popup.

    It open, if not executed with administrative rights, though. Which, if we need to disable or enable some service, is useless.

    I also can't update SpywareBlaster and Spybot-Search & Destroy, as they will hang when I press to check for updates.

    This is a Windows Vista SP1 x86 with UAC enabled system, and normal user account.

    Can anyone reproduce it?
     
  13. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    Can I simply install IE8 over IE7?
     
  14. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    yup just download the .exe file and install.
    if you have an imaging program create an image first just incase.
     
  15. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,734
    Location:
    Texas
    Internet Explorer 8: Help and support located here.
     
  16. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    It looks like the rollout schedule does not have it available via Windows Update until the week of April 13th in the USA, so I believe I will wait until May before I install IE8.
     
  17. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Final version is buggier than what I reported.

    As I mentioned, I use normal user account, for most of my work in this machine.

    I went to the administrator account, and, first, I get a black screen with a command line window open, due to reg.exe, which belongs to the registry console. It kept like that for a while, and I just got tired and rebooted it, manually.

    Then, nothing would load to the tray bar, in the admin account.

    I'm not a programmer, but, I find it stupid to see a final release doing more damage than a release candidate version.

    I guess I'll install RC back on this system. It just had small glitches, but nothing that hard to deal with.

    I just hope Microsoft fixes this as soon as possible.


    Regards


    Edit: My last attempt to open Windows services, with administrative rights, was about 5-8 minutes ago. It just opened now. I closed it and reopened it, and still didn't come up.
    For some reason, IE 8 Final is slowing down, perhaps, things that need administrative rights from opening right away.

    After all, Windows services window appears real quick, if not opening with administrative rights.

    Also, perhaps, the reason SpywareBlaster and Spybot's update windows seem to hang. They also take a long time to come out of the hanging situation. Both SpywareBlaster and Spybot reported there are no updates.

    I'll get in touch with Microsoft tomorrow morning. I don't have time today.

    Regards
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2009
  18. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Thanks for info, m00nbl00d. I reckon I'll also be holding off on it until I hear better reports.
     
  19. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,734
    Location:
    Texas
  20. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    This is an issue between IE 8 and applications/processes that need Administrative rights to work.

    The same happens with Malwarebytes Antimalware. It just hangs, when looking for updates.

    I already got in touch with Microsoft. I just forgot to mention I believe is an issue with applications/processes that need high privileges to work properly.

    I'll re-forward my email again. :D


    Cheers
     
  21. kC_

    kC_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    452
    installed here on vista Home premium 32bit, and now any folder i open, opens in a new window*puppy*

    i went to folder options and tried changing it but whichever option i select there it makes no difference..
     
  22. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,734
    Location:
    Texas
  23. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,128
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    Thanks!! any IE8 tweak pages out yet??
     
  24. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Not sure, but I found a damn great tweak that makes everything just work - Uninstalled it. :D Went back to RC.

    Even installing applications, requiring Administrative rights, take a hell long time. Specially the large ones.

    Not to mention that, it would take ages to get inside my Admin account. I gave up, after, like 10 minutes. :D Nothing would load into the task bar, due to the "lag" time to get their rights.


    Regards
     
  25. Pain of Salvation

    Pain of Salvation Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    398
    No problem at all with IE8 here.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.