Microsoft Security Essentials

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Kees1958, Aug 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dews

    dews Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Miami .....
    is this microsoft security essentials any good? i mean very good protection against viruses and malware?
    i use avira on my laptop and norton on my second pc, but is it worth to install this microsoft security essentials and be protected as good as any other antivirus ?
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2010
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
  3. PunchsucKr

    PunchsucKr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Posts:
    138
    in this video it is also stated that none of the other tools the video's author used to remove rootkits, were able to detect that particular rootkit, except for DrWeb..n that too from a bootdisk.. doesn't mean MSE isn't any good against rootkits. Nothing is perfect but it is a great free alternative.

    http://www.darkreading.com/insiderthreat/security/antivirus/showArticle.jhtml?articleID=220300706 :p :D
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2010
  4. Cherub

    Cherub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Kentucky
    I got a question that is probably basic but I'm confused.

    I have Avira Professional anti-virus running real time. I like it and want to keep it. BUT, if I wanted to get MSE(64bit) to occasionally run a scan with it, could I do that?

    I know that it's not good to run two antivirus applications at the same time, so if I wanted to do the above, how would I do it and/or is it even possible?
     
  5. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,970
    Last time I installed MSE it did not give me the option to install without real time protection so it would probably not work :D
     
  6. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    If you can install MSE, disable the "Real Time Protection" in the settings window then you will only have Avira in real-time. If running the MSE scan, disable the Avira Guard at the same time.

    However, I would only install 1 of these and look at a HIPS/Sandbox for a better layered approach.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Cherub

    Cherub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Thanks guys. I guess I will hold off for now. My Avira license still has a ways to go. I was mainly just thinking how I could get a "second" opinion AV. Say, like an on-demand scan just for that second opinion. Considering my lack of expertise in installing/uninstalling programs, I probably should just wait until my Avira License runs out.

    I do have Prevx running also, with Outpost Firewall.

    My problem is I come on Wilders and see all these different products and want to try them. lol

    I do appreciate the help. Thanks.
     
  8. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    I would recommend HitMan Pro as a good backup scanner; 5 separate engines and you would not need to uninstall Avira.

    You have a good layered defence already.

    We all do :p ;) :D
     
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    cherub we all have that temptation to try all sort of software here:) i am one with that addiction:D
     
  10. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Heaven help you.;)
     
  11. Cherub

    Cherub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Yeah, just one more little note. Before finding this forum, I was one of those guys that just thought there were two Anti-Virus Applications, Norton and Kaspersky. And didn't really know anything about firewalls,HIPS,backups,etc. lol

    So, it's not a understatement that, while I get confused with some of the language here, this forum has been one of my great discoveries ever on the web. Really, really helped me learn what I know about security and still teaches me.

    Not that anyone on here needs it, but just know I'm one of the guys that y'all have helped out immensely.
     
  12. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
  13. PunchsucKr

    PunchsucKr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Posts:
    138
    @trjam i also posted something similar to his response :D
     
  14. dcrowe0050

    dcrowe0050 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Posts:
    378
    Location:
    NC
    Haven't installed MSE in a while, I've been using Avast 5. Are there any conflicts with Geswall? Or has anyone tried this combination.
     
  15. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    You could try the two together but since MSE appears not to like most third-party software I would be surprised if the two happily co-exist.

    It is still incompatible with DefenseWall for example.
     
  16. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    I am using MSE with Returnil 2008 with no problems and have used it with Sandboxie. Too bad it won't work with Defensewall though. That would be a good combo. Overall I am very impressed with MSE.
     
  17. dcrowe0050

    dcrowe0050 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Posts:
    378
    Location:
    NC
    Well im gonna try it out. I am on this kick with Geswall right now so maybe they will work out.
     
  18. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Keep us posted. Are you on XP or Vista/7?
     
  19. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    MSE and Geswall will work together.
     
  20. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Personal experience?
     
  21. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Yep. As always.;)
     
  22. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Good to know :thumb:
     
  23. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Keep in mind, that is for 32 bit systems. Might have a update on 64 bit Geswall soon.;)
     
  24. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    I liked Geswall on XP but not with Vista/7 as you cannot use all of its bells and whistles due to UAC. For example, you cannot mark files trusted/ untrusted via the context-menu without disabling UAC.
     
  25. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    I disabled UAC
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.