Microsoft Security Essentials

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Kees1958, Aug 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    992
    Does anybody know if you can run MSE and Norton Internet Security 2010 simultaneously?

    Many thanks,
     
  2. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,995
    Anyone have any comments on this issue? Or is it not an issue?
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    131,269
    Location:
    Texas
  4. osubuck

    osubuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    18

    This would be a bad idea, you never want to have 2 realtime scanners going on 1 machine at the same time.
     
  5. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    I _highly_ doubt it, you would be lucky to run any security software alongside a suite.
     
  6. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    I agree, they would not be so loud about this if they didn't think it would affect their bottom line. Someone else here made the point about Norton's main end user revenue being from preinstalls on so many retail machines. So many consumers just go ahead and buy a subscription to norton because they don't know any better and renew when it is time to renew. Perhaps Norton is worried about MSE affecting their little sweet money maker they got going on with these pc manufacturers. All this noise coming from them is really disgusting. It makes their reputation that much worse.
     
  7. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    I don't think it is a good idea.There are someone testing this situation.And the result is bad.Two more AVs are installed,their ability will be powerless.When scanning the computer,they will influence another one and just can detect a few viruses.
     
  8. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Running two very similar programs together is asking for conflicts.
    Definitely not a good idea. An adventure maybe.
     
  9. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    well for some reason, the people over at the Avast forums seem to think runing 2 AV's is no problem at all if thers no "VISIBLE" issues :rolleyes: and i thought people who visited a technical forum like that knew better...
     
  10. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    I see that. A junior member suggests running the beta with MSE as one of two options for a disgruntled beta tester.o_O
    ROFL!
     
  11. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,656
    Location:
    USA
    I can pretty safely say you can not run the two together without even trying it. You can only run one resident shield, and one on access shield at the same time. You can only use more than one antivirus if the other antivirus gives you the option of only installing the on-demand scanner module. You can get away with installing two antivirus for a while sometimes if you disable both of the above shields, but you will eventely have problems with system stability. Running two software firewalls at the same time will make your system less secure; not more secure. Don't do it. Firewalls work off of policy based rules, and if you have two different sets of rules trying to accomplish the same thing at the same time then you will run into problems. I don't want to explain the technical details out of pure laziness right now lol
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2009
  12. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    several of the more senior forum members say the exact same and it really just lowers my confidence of the technical knowledge over at that supposed "AV" forum...
     
  13. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,995
    Maybe I will try to unhook my external hard drive and see if MSE creates a new temp folder.
     
  14. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    It is quite worrying if the 'seasoned pros' are recommending running 2 real-time AVs simultaneously.Any possible benefits (a few extra signatures) are far outweighed by the potential major issues and it's irresponsible for them to say different.o_O
     
  15. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    thats exactly what i posted ther, but apparently im wrong... :rolleyes:
     
  16. rhuds13

    rhuds13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Posts:
    101
  17. Follower

    Follower Guest

    No automatic updates? o_O
     
  18. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    Read more of the thread.
     
  19. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    From that post:

    "During that time, we tested avast with over 15 other low-level applications and fixed a few compatibility issues. For example, we made sure avast! works flawlessly with the upcoming Microsoft Security Essentials (MSE) – a program that has severe issues with the current avast beta build 5.0.89, by the way "

    That's all terrific but are they going to guarantee there will never be any such 'severe issues' in future? and for what exact benefit is there in running both together?
     
  20. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Looks to me like that article is about compatibility on Windows 7.
    If you don't have enough faith in your choice of av, dump it. In the case of Avast's beta, it's more suitable for test systems at this stage.
     
  21. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    I have plenty of memory and cpu, but look how much memory it is using on my pc. As long as I don't notice any sluggishness then it is ok. Does it use more resources if you have them available?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 2, 2009
  22. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    This is the only explanation I can think of at the moment.
     
  23. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,201
    I didn't read this entire thread, but I've read the MSE isn't good at prevention against new threats, that is, malware for which no signature exists yet.
    No good heuristics either.

    Source: non-English website.

    It may have been mentioned somewhere in this thread, but I'll just state it here, just in case. :)

    Antimalware based on signatures only is rather limited.
     
  24. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076

    In my "personal" experience, it's the complete opposite.
     
  25. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,007
    It does employ some special features per this article:

    http://www.computerworld.com/s/arti...s_beta_offers_free_protection_against_malware

    "Security Essentials uses a new feature called the Dynamic Signature Service, which employs a variety of techniques to check for malware even before that malware's specific signature has been identified. Microsoft says Security Essentials emulates the behavior of programs before they run, and uses the signature created during the process to look for any suspicious behavior or patterns of suspicious behavior, such as starting an unexpected network connection or trying to modify certain protected sections of Windows. The Dynamic Signature Service then determines what action to take against the potential malware."
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.