Microsoft Security Essentials

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Kees1958, Aug 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Hi,

    I have a question to the AV-insiders.

    MSE - Morro should contain

    a) Live kernel behavioral Monitoring (acquisition of Komoku should kick start this)
    b) What agents of Windows Defender operate under the hood of MSE, any more
    c) Pre-execution emulation and heuristics (Vinny Gullotto old McFee veteran will guide them)

    Any info on when or in which release they will have implented this, or what maturity the upcoming final will have.


    Regards Kees
     
  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Microsoft is currently very quiet about MSE development, you probably won't hear anything until the next beta phase.
     
  3. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    I don't have any information about MSE,but I like your image.

    When I used Morro,I only have a idea:MSE is so slow.Under the same enviroment,MSE has a full scan,it costs several hours.But another AV,just half an hour.If MSE improved on this hand,I'm glad to see that.
     
  4. lordpake

    lordpake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    563
    Location:
    Helsinki ~ European Union
    I have the exact opposite experience. In my case, installation of MSE actually speeded things up, compared to previous solution. This includes the full scan.

    And to be frank, I don't think scan speed of full scan is proper way to compare apps. After all, why would someone need to run full scan nowadays? On-access protection is capable of picking up malware before it executes.

    I can't remember when I last did full scan on any of my systems (testing scenarios excluded).
     
  5. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    I would like to know when the next beta will be and what it has instore because im using MSE right now its pretty good so far. but i cant wait to see the changes they have made to improve it .

    this might be close to be one of the best. we will have to wait and see.
     
  6. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Yes, MSE, but does any of you know something of the mentioned features? The best AV's are working on pre-execution code emulation and kernel heuristics, so that would be good features of a freebie. Also its x64 performance seems to be great.
     
  7. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA

    yes i am running it with windows 7 x64 and it is doing great here.

    you will here poeple put it down because its well microsoft product. i dont care.
     
  8. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Yes but non of you have any info on
    - what IDS agents it has beneath the hood
    - how kernel monitoring is implemented
    - pre-execution code emulation/unpacking is implemented

    Regards
     
  9. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    Ok,maybe full scan isn't a good way.But how can we test AV's speed?

    And sometimes we will meet some viruses which my present AV's real-time protection can't detect.At that time,we need another AV to check our computer with full scan.I choose MSE to finish this job.But the process lets me down,it is so slow.I look forward to its improvement.
     
  10. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    since MSE is developed by microsoft and since Windows is their own OS. if MSE has an x64 version wuld it be able to get passed the limitations that some vendors say they have? since it is their own OS they shuld know all the ins and outs right?
     
  11. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Well they would also be limited by the patch guard problably, just wondering whether they have an advantage with he kernel monitoring.

    On x64 MSE uses a lot of total CPU time (with no spikes), but disk I/O is lower than on XP machine (?) and it feels faster than any other freeware AV we have tried (and bitdefender trial, because people said it worked so fast on x64 and A2 paid lisence - now stopped).

    Nobody seems to know info relating to my questions o_O
     
  12. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ye im just curious what advantages microsoft wuld have over the competition considering its their own OS.
     
  13. simisg

    simisg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    Greece
    at the time mse has one of the lowest impact on the system and the lowest false positives with great detection prevention and healing well done micosoft!!
     
  14. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    knowing Microsoft, they will not say, but who cares. For free it is better then anything I ever paid for.:doubt:
     
  15. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Unfortunately I can't say the same for it. The first time I ran it, it ran great, scans were fast, memory usage low, boot-up/file access pretty fast. Whatever they did to it since then, good god almighty, reverse whatever change you made Microsoft, please. I put this thing back on and literally waited a full minute+ for the thing to boot and the desktop to fully load. Memory usage shot up, and opening folders/viewing files is an exercise in patience. I'm frankly getting tired of the new attitude software developers are seemingly starting to have, the attitude of "Well, people have loads of memory now and dual/quad processors so we can just load up our programs with bloat"...err, oops, this was an MSE thread, sorry.
     
  16. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,797
    Location:
    Texas
  17. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Thanks :)
     
  18. simisg

    simisg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    Greece
    i have xp sp3 with pentium m 1.73 and only in the startup mse leaks cpu and is heavy then with mse my pc is faster than any oher antivirus i have try
     
  19. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    I have the same setup with the same result on one pc. I also have it running a on Vista Home (sp2), dual core 3G machine and I don't notice any slowdown at startup. Overall, I think this is a very good piece of security. The only problem I have with it, is it's updating schedule. I mostly have to manually update to get the latest and greatest definitions. I know it doesn't rely solely on the signatures but I wish it updated more frequently.

    Ice
     
  20. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    if MSE detection something and the user doesnt do anything it takes over and removes the threats.
     
  21. xpsunny

    xpsunny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    163

    Yes, it suspends the threats. Moreover, you can also assign default actions to be performed automatically upon detection of threats.
     
  22. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Under "excluded processes" in included prevx, SuperAntiSpyware and MBAM (even though on demand only for now) and my backup program (Karen's Replicator).

    Should I include Ad Muncher or my firewall (PC Tools 6) or would there be some security reason not to exclude those?

    Also, anything else I should exclude?
     
  23. Fuzzydice45

    Fuzzydice45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Australia
    You might want to exclude any games for performance reasons, I usually do that with whatever AV i'm using at the time.
    Oh and any defraggers that you use. ;)

    Stupid question, but does MSE have http scanning?
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2009
  24. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Yes it does.
     
  25. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,635
    Location:
    UK
    This is probably because Microsoft are keeping quiet on developments and will only release details when appropriate.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.