Microsoft Security Essentials 3 Beta Sammelthread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Mops21, Nov 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,505
    Location:
    Germany
  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,856
    http://www.neowin.net/news/new-microsoft-security-essentials-beta-inbound
     
  3. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,505
    Location:
    Germany
  4. buckslayr

    buckslayr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Posts:
    484
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    I got an invite. Think I'm going to give it a try when the beta becomes available.
     
  5. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I wonder what the new version will bring to users. Web shield, perhaps? Maybe it will integrate App Reputation? :D

    I have to see if I got an invitation as well... I wonder if I'm a VIP. :rolleyes: :D
     
  6. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,958
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Microsoft Security Essentials beta registration opens


    http://blogs.technet.com/b/mmpc/arc...urity-essentials-beta-registration-opens.aspx
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 18, 2011
  7. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    I did too but will pass on it.
     
  8. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,007
    I dont know how they can really simplify the GUI but the other features sound good.
     
  9. brainrb1

    brainrb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Posts:
    475
    Got the invitation today.Looking forward :thumb:
     
  10. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,856
    Probably more metro-like.

    Looking forward to the beta though I bet it's released at the same time as IE10 beta and Windows 8 beta (all built in).
     
  11. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Let's hope it won't become too metro... Sometimes when things become way too simply... I'm just afraid of what may happen. :argh:

    But, when it comes out we'll see how it looks like... :D
     
  12. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,101
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I too have received an invite and look forward to testing it. I pray they've fixed the mammoth CPU usage on opening a folder of exe files.
     
  13. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    Yes, that is a deal breaker especially on 32bit. My work laptop is x64 and it is just slightly better. In it's favor though, that usually happened on the first open of said folder of that logon session
     
  14. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i'll believe it when i hear about it. ;)

    you guys go first! lol
     
  15. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    Looking forward for v3, it would be great. Silent are better IMHO
     
  16. iravgupta

    iravgupta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Posts:
    605
    The curious thing is, it does not happen on every system. In my conversation with funkydude previously, he maintained that he did not see anything like it on his machine. I guess it might be related to the hard-drive controller / chipset driver.
     
  17. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    Yes it is curious and I've personally seen it on my wife and daughter's laptops. For whatever reason, they do not experience it but I do with my personal and work laptop. On my personal laptop, I have waited as much as 50 seconds for the icons to load and the laptop to become stable again. I can exclude the explorer process and it fixes the issue.
     
  18. HKEY1952

    HKEY1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    648
    Location:
    HKEY/SECURITY/ (value not set)
    Excluding the Explorer Process from Security Scans is an Breach in Security

    I would not exclude the Explorer Process, Explorer is the Heart of Windows, Explorer has it's Hooks in just about
    everything in the Microsoft Windows Operating Syatem. That action is An Breach In Security.


    HKEY1952
     
  19. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    I'm speaking in past tense when it comes to my personal laptop. There is no way I can use MSE on it. The option to exclude the explorer process came from a link here at Wilders which directed you to the source of this option. It was a Microsoft web site if I remember correct. I do agree that it should not be excluded.
     
  20. Ianb

    Ianb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Posts:
    232
    Location:
    UK
    I got an invite too and will give it a go.
     
  21. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,076
    +1 :thumb:
     
  22. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,505
    Location:
    Germany
  23. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I just wish they'd add damn feature do turn off on-access archive scanning. It's a total waste of all resources and because of that it's useless for aynthing that doesn't have loads of RAM and super dupper fast CPU with fast HDD.
    Download a 2GB game that's packed in SFX archive (FEAR Combat, GoG Games) and it will put a system to a dead stop until it scans it. WHY!? It' will scan the content during extraction. But no, they first waste resources on scanning the entire thing and then again its contants when extracted. Totally moronic.
    I'd install more MSE's to systems that i fix for others but because of it's crappy slowness and 24 update check cycles, it's just a no no and i rather teach them to register avast! Free than have them use MSE and then blame me why their system stops each time they download something bigger from net...
     
  24. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    MSE BETA

    Version 4.0.111.0 installed and running fine
     
  25. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Re: MSE BETA

    Is the beta already out? I didn't receive any e-mail from Microsoft. o_O

    Is there a direct download link?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.