Microsoft Security Essentials 2.1.1116.0

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Nanobot, Jun 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,994
    I have not seen that issue, but I have seen a few other bugs in past versions that caused me to move on to something else.. There always seems to be something slightly amiss....
     
  2. jmorlan

    jmorlan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Posts:
    69
    Don't let it do a "full scan." Quick Scan is good enough unless you have an infected machine. Some people have reported excessive disk access after setting up MSE to do periodic full scans.

    I also have no slowdown from MSE on my Netbook running Win7 starter edition.
     
  3. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    I haven't had any system bogging down or slowdowns browsing while using MSE.
    I'm using it on W7 64bit.
    I have done a full scan on occasion and never had any trouble with it. I normally do the quick scan weekly.
    It's been trouble free for me so far.
     
  4. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ

    ditto- same here
    robin
     
  5. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    567
    MSE found some viruses in my pen drive and it wanted to do upload some suspicious files. I use a Standard user account but I could not see the names and path of the files MSE wanted to upload. I had to enter my admin password to see those files and upload them. But I feel it is risky to do this as MSE self defense is poor.
     
  6. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    It is fine. :)
     
  7. Doraemon

    Doraemon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    I'm using MSE 2.0 (still no 2.1 update via WU :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: ) on my laptop with W7 Pro x64 SP1 and so far so good! :cool: :D

    Only gripe is that while scanning folders with Total Commander (my default file manager) MSE takes quite a long time to scan all the exe's in them (you can see the CPU getting heavy and the icons slowly showing).

    I'd like to ask you mates if it's safe to check the option to only scan incoming files. Does MSE really 'remember' the previous files in the computer? o_O

    Thanks! :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  8. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    Adelaide
    It is this and this alone that stops me from using MSE on my PC.
     
  9. PunchsucKr

    PunchsucKr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Posts:
    138
    It whitelists exe files already scanned until the user logs off.
    And better to not disable monitoring all files.

    For the slow exe loads, i just put all my exe installers in a separate folder since its very rare to access them if the program is already installed.
     
  10. Doraemon

    Doraemon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    Thanks a lot!:thumb: :D :thumb:
     
  11. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    But why all these complications when other products don't have such problems and have just as advanced if not more scan engines? I like the minimalistic approach of MSE, but i totally hate their retarded 24 hour update check cycle, idiotic on-access archive scanning and god awful slow on-access scanner...
     
  12. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    Sounds like a wonderful producto_O
     
  13. PunchsucKr

    PunchsucKr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Posts:
    138
    you're welcome :)
     
  14. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Hear, hear! :thumb:
     
  15. william1955

    william1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    Please kindly find SignatureUpdateInterval key in the registry.
    When you change value to 1, MSE will check availability of updated signatures
    each one hour.
    Also, you can use for example 6 and 12

    Best regards
    William
     
  16. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    You shouldn't need to tweak registry entries manually to get updates more often or more regularly. I think that's one of his points.
     
  17. newline

    newline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Posts:
    39
    Location:
    .au
    I agree.
     
  18. JoakimM

    JoakimM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Posts:
    51
    Location:
    Lomma, Sweden
    Just a thought IMHO:

    MSE does what Microsoft says it does. It provides basic security, nothing more, nothing less. Is not aimed for the tech-savvy minority but for the vast majority of users who does not want to tweak their product and just want it to work in a leave-and-forget way. Furthermore, it is free. Somehow these facts seems to be forgotten by many.

    Yes, I agree that MSE can be improved, everything can be improved. When the product is tested other free or paid products sometimes score better but given the fact that about 10% of the Windows users worldwide use the product, I am still waitng to hear about it failing them to the point that is not deemed a reliable security solution that fills its stated purpose. If the product is so inferior that some people in this thread seems to believe, that should have happened by now given the number of copies distributed.

    Regards,
    Joakim
     
  19. Jose_Lisbon

    Jose_Lisbon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Posts:
    245
    Location:
    Portugal
    Exactly.
     
  20. Jose_Lisbon

    Jose_Lisbon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Posts:
    245
    Location:
    Portugal
    Even if you're an above average user MSE is a perfect solution.
    Why? Because in that case you will want a second or third layer of protection, and the most compatible AV I have tried is this one.
    I have used it alongside:
    Online Armor (HIPS on or off)
    Threatfire
    Comodo (defense+ on or off)
    Outpost Suite free (with Outpost's AV enabled)
    Immunet
    Avast, all shields on (yes, yes)
    Mamutu

    It's not the best of AVs, does not intend to be; it is the most simple and compatible of all. No good surprises and no bad ones as well.
     
  21. jmorlan

    jmorlan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Posts:
    69
    I've been running 2.1 since it was first released and noticed that it caused EventID 72 SideBySide errors every day since I installed it. This has been reported on their support site without any resolution.

    Removing MSE solved the problem for me.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2011
  22. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,726
    Location:
    Canada
    SideBySide errors can be resolved by installing runtime components of Visual C++ Libraries.
     
  23. jmorlan

    jmorlan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Posts:
    69
    Did that fix the problem for you running MSE 2.1? As far as I know, everyone running this version of MSE is seeing these errors in the Event Viewer.
     
  24. Jose_Lisbon

    Jose_Lisbon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Posts:
    245
    Location:
    Portugal
    I've been having logs in Event Viewer since MSE's first beta (June 2009).
    There's nothing to it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2011
  25. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,726
    Location:
    Canada
    Before installing Microsoft Security Essentials 2.1.1116.0, I had a previous version installed, so I downloaded the 2.1 package and uninstalled the old version and re-booted and then installed 2.1. Not had any SideBySide errors with any of the MSE versions, I’m running Windows 7 x64 with SP1.

    ... I’ve just checked the other computer running Windows 7 x86 with SP1, and there are no SideBySide errors, so apparently not ‘everyone’ with MSE 2.1 is experiencing these.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.