Microsoft Security Essentials 2.1.1116.0

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Nanobot, Jun 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nanobot

    Nanobot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Posts:
    237
    Location:
    Neo Tokyo
  2. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    Any idea what is new in this version?
     
  3. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    At least the main annoyances on Windows XP are still present; namely high memory usage and slow folder loading.
     
  4. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    So I guess there's no rush to download and install the update manually...;)
     
  5. brainrb1

    brainrb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Posts:
    474
    Thanks, is there any information on any changes?
     
  6. jmorlan

    jmorlan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Posts:
    69
    MS has never provided a Change Log for any version of MSE.
     
  7. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    They did for v2...

    edit: Updated to v2.1 fine, did a check for definition updates then a quick scan, all good.
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2011
  8. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    Well, I just couldn't resist...installed it over the top on two XP Pro machines and the result was so unacceptable in terms of CPU & RAM usage that I've deleted it off both and will never look back.
     
  9. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    Yep, same experience on my older XP testmule.
     
  10. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Microsoft obviously doesn't place XP as high priority (or maybe even medium).
     
  11. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
  12. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I hope it's OK on Vista & Seven. I think I can wait until I'm updated.
     
  13. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    change logs:
    * Windows Firewall integration.
    * Network Inspection System.
    * New and improved protection engine.

    MSE is getting more interesting :D
     
  14. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    That's the v2 changelog.
     
  15. rseiler

    rseiler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    85
  16. jmorlan

    jmorlan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Posts:
    69
    Thanks, but that's a schedule of engine releases with no other information. A real change log would tell what's new in these engine releases.

    My statement that MSE never issues a change log was in error and was based on this post in the MS forum. It was true at the time, but since then, the only change log issued was for the release of v2. Maybe just major versions will have a change log.

    In the meantime, the release notes for Forefront from Technet are all we have.
     
  17. PC_Pete

    PC_Pete Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Posts:
    124
    After a couple of 'upgrade' installs of 2.1 over 2.0 on XP SP3 PCs, I've not noticed much difference.o_O
     
  18. ellison

    ellison Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Ive just installed MSE on a friends vista 32 laptop 2 gig of ram.It runs fine and light ,however i was a bit cncerned to see that defenition updates seemed to be "OPTIONAL" (see pics)when I clicked windows updates.The settings for windows update are to install automatically(see pic).Am i to understand MSE defs will update fully automatically (bits is enabled and its a fuly validated OS),or does the user have to interact with the window update feature?
    tia
    ellison
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    Updates will be checked for, downloaded and installed automatically, according to the update schedule, with the 'recommended' setting.
    That's once a day only with standard settings but you can add update tasks yourself to have it check for updates more often.

    I think the 'Optional' should be regarded in comparison to the other updates which are deemed 'Important' OS updates.
     
  20. Jose_Lisbon

    Jose_Lisbon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Posts:
    245
    Location:
    Portugal
    It will update automatically.
     
  21. rseiler

    rseiler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    85
    Yes, but my kingdom for a way not to have MSE record every lousy definition update in WU history.
     
  22. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    You seem to be the only person that has this issue. You said you "reinstalled my OS", maybe you have a corrupt install?
     
  23. Jose_Lisbon

    Jose_Lisbon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Posts:
    245
    Location:
    Portugal
    Could be, but I feel no symptoms of that. Everything is running flawlessly.
    Besides, the issue was there before the reinstall.
     
  24. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    I'm glad I read this thread. MSE was one of the things I was planning on trying out, but if it runs bloated on XP then it's simply not an option for me.
     
  25. Doraemon

    Doraemon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    Nearly 1 week after the release of 2.1 and I'm still waiting for the supposed automatic upgrade. No news on the Windows Update applet either. I'm on a legal W7 x64 Pro.

    :thumbd: :thumbd: :thumbd:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.