Microsoft replacing Hotmail with upgraded Outlook

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by tgell, Jul 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mhf

    mhf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    Europe
    Same here - and it seems to be faster but no doubt that is my imagination. However the navigation leaves a lot to be desired : for example, write a message then send it to drafts, open it there and try to go to your folders !
     
  2. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    You can rename your account login to an @outlook one. The old email will then become an alias for the renamed account.

    Hotmail addresses will NOT be converted to outlook. If you want an outlook address make one now before someone else makes it. If it isn't available, you're too late.


    I opened the draft and I can still see my folders fine, is that what you meant?
     
  3. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Already 1 million people have signed up at outlook.com and fax at outlook.com is already gone... aaarrgh :mad:
    Hurry up before its too late!
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2012
  4. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    993
    The news that OP allows us to know is a typical GMail effect - not a placebo effect...

    Nice to see that Microsoft learns with the evidences - even against too many assumptions from MS 'experts' fanboys.

    Like with defragmentation: the defragmentation improvements that Microsoft did a lot in Windows 7 - even when too many MS fanboys liked to say that the advantages of defragmentation process was in Win XP system a placebo effect...
     
  5. ASM

    ASM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    164
    Thanks... Simple... Clean design. I like the compose mail layout. Big Subject title...
     
  6. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,298
    Location:
    UK
    I am okay using it with IE but seem to have problems when using Opera.

    Any other Opera user seeing this?
     
  7. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    944
    Same as elapsed for me - I can do as you say and still navigate fine... (IE9)
     
  8. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    453
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    Can I still keep my old @hotmail.com address?
    And does my folder structure stay the same?


    By the way. The top of my Outlook interface is cut off.
     
  9. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    Yes & yes.

    What browser are you using and have you tried disabling its addons if any?
     
  10. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    453
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    Just to be clear. So even if I just switch my existing Hotmail address to an Outlook address, I can still use my old Hotmail address without any problem?

    By the way. Outlook is cut off on the top using IE, Firefox and Chrome on various different computers.
     
  11. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    If you switch, outlook e-mail will be your main e-mail and hotmail an alias. You will be still be able to send (and receive) messages as hotmail but your default will be outlook.
     
  12. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    What in specific are you talking about? Are you on outlook right now and considering using the rename account feature? If so then you'll need to log into Microsoft services using the outlook address. But your old email address will be kept as an alias with its own folder.

    Maybe it's your DNS?
     
  13. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    944
    By 'switch', if you mean 'create alias' then yes. If you mean 'Rename', then no.
     
  14. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    453
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    Thanks. That's very clear.
    I think I will just create a new Outlook account and keep my existing Hotmail account. But I am not going to use it until they fix the glitch at the top.
     
  15. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    Create a brand new account? Why? If you want to keep your current Hotmail address for logging into Microsoft services, then just make an outlook alias.
     
  16. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Yeap :thumb: , no advangate of creating two separates accounts.
     
  17. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    453
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    You mean us the "Rename your email address" feature?
     
  18. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    No, use the "Create an Outlook alias" feature. This feature allows you to create as many email addresses as you want using @outlook, @hotmail, or @live addresses, but they are all under your 1 account.
     
  19. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    453
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    OK. Because when I first logged into Outlook, I received an email with a link that offered to rename my email address. You can also find this option under more mail settings. So that is where the confusion is.
     
  20. Stigg

    Stigg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    453
    Location:
    Dededo, Guam
    Guys. Here is what I am talking about with the glitch at the top.
    See the bits hidden below the blue bar at the top.

    This happens on all computers and all 3 browsers (IE, Chrome, Firefox).

    Outlook_Glitch.jpg
     
  21. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    it's the Search box.

    it works fine on my machine.
     
  22. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,426
    Location:
    USA
    Sorry I was traveling so could not respond earlier.

    Well, if what you are saying is true then it is okay. Microsoft did something similar before when they tried to change hotmail to windows live mail. I seem to recall, when they introduced windows live, they said the same things, it is going to be faster, more manageable etc. etc. It did not work because the same engineers who were working on hotmail, designed the new windows live mail, so windows live mail quickly became exactly like hotmail. I am sure this new outlook mail's interface will soon become as complicated as hotmail's.

    Microsoft does not need a new service, they need a new team of software engineers to redesign and improve hotmail to make it less cluttered and fast or whatever they think is wrong with hotmail.
     
  23. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,426
    Location:
    USA
    It is still the case because microsoft is running three mail services at the same time; hotmail, windows live mail and outlook mail. So, jane.doe@hotmail.com, jane.doe@live.com and jane.doe@outlook.com are three different addresses and may be used by three different people. This is why you need the last part "@hotmail.com" if you want to sign into your account.
     
  24. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,426
    Location:
    USA
    You might have set a custom zoom on the webpage, try resetting the zoom to the default value and the glitch will go away.
     
  25. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    That's exactly what they've done with Outlook, successfully.

    Like I stated earlier, no, it's not still the case. You can rename your account so that you can log into the same account with an outlook address.

    It is highly unlikely that a custom zoom would affect multiple browsers on multiple computers.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.