Microsoft makes Windows 10 hardware change for PC security

Discussion in 'hardware' started by ronjor, Jul 27, 2016.

  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
  2. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,524
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I wonder how Europe will respond. They're the only ones courageous enough to stand up to M$.
     
  3. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    How's their version of Windows 10? Is it without the spyware? ;)
     
  4. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    883
    Location:
    Triassic
    So if you updated a PC using the free upgrade offer and it only supports TPM 1.2, tomorrow it will no longer meet the minimum requirements for W10.
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    The way I read it, PC makers will have to do this in the future. We shall see.
     
  6. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    883
    Location:
    Triassic
    It is more logical that it should be that way. My guess is that this MS announcement was a heads up to their Enterprise Clients to be looking for this spec. when they buy new for their migration to W10. According to the experts who predict such things, Enterprise clients will be buying new and starting the migration to W10 starting in 2017. If TPM 2.0 becomes a minimum requirement it stands to reason that it will coincide with these client migrations. OEMs will have to comply or lose business. MS hardware for the Enterprise will no doubt be well positioned for this.
     
Loading...